Kilbeggan

Kilbeggan 1.jpg

At the time of this tasting it’s Xmas time. And as is Xmas tradition for me, I raid my Uncle’s cabinet and review something in there.

This year two somethings. But let’s start with the first something, and leave the other something to later.

Up first is Kilbeggan, an Irish whiskey named after St Bécán, a man who started a monastery in Ireland. So that’s special. Glad there didn’t use the saint name, otherwise I’d have to copy and paste that name all over the place.

It’s also a blend of grain and malt whiskies, made in a pot still that has lasted 180 years. I guess. It’s the entry level whiskey from them, so a good place to start.

Also I’ve had a cheese made with it before, and that was tasty, however that may just be me liking the cheese, right? Good milk can do that… however this has a lot of awards, so maybe it wasn’t just happy drunk Irish cows.

I apologize: It’s quite jingoistic of me to assume that Irish cows are drunk. They may just be buzzing or sober. I assure you I have beated myself up about the issue.

Price: $35.45 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Ireland

Abv: 40%

Colour: 5Y 8/8

Nose: Yeast, grapefruit, sugar cookie, smoke, butterscotch, herbal, spoiled milk

Starts out like a typical Irish whiskey. Yeast, some sweetness… Then it takes an interesting turn, goes sweet and smokey.

It’s quite nice. Then this caramel and herbal note leads you along, running after it, right into a giant spoiled milk chasm. And I fall. And fall. And cry.

That dramatic enough for you? Good, let’s move on.

Taste: Stewed lemon, caramel, pepper, ginger

I’ve never actually stewed a lemon, however if I did, this is how I would assume it tastes. It’s like lemon that’s hot and more acrid.

Oh, and there’s some caramel/pepper/ginger, but you can read that, and it’s not the main thing. Doesn’t taste very good, dayum.

Finish: Butter, ash, wood, lemon rind

Burnt, woody, and more lemon, but not the happy part of the lemon on top, but the evil white lemon part.

Sorry, that was jingoistic of me: Not all white lemon parts are evil. They may just be painful or not taste good.

Conclusion: At the end of the day this isn’t a great whiskey. The nose has something interesting yet ends in a bad place.

The taste is heavily lemon and the finish isn’t bad, but not very good either. I’m not in love with it. I want to try the 8 year to see how it matures more, and if this is all due to young age. Otherwise, skip.

51/100

World Whiskey review #122, Ireland review #21, Whiskey Network review #610

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #265

One thought on “Kilbeggan

Leave a comment