Cambus 20 1991 Signatory Vintage Cask Strength Collection

Cambus Signatory

And now for a couple of weirdos. I was out of SMWS, and noticed two interesting bottles on the top shelf of the Parcel Yard. Finding out that they were, in fact, Scotch, I asked for a dram of each (on two separate occasions, otherwise liver = dead).

The first was the Cambus 1991 Signatory Vintage Cask Strength 20 year old. I’ve never had a Cambus before, and knew nothing about them (my usual M.O.). It was closed down in 1993. Can’t really find out much about them, except you’re only hope to try it is have some money, be lucky, have a TARDIS, or buy an Independent Bottle.

Yay me! I’m not a time traveler and therefore not my own grandfather!

EDIT: It has been pointed out to me by /u/Hello_Nasty[1] and /u/UncleTobys[2] that this is a Single Grain Scotch, not a Single Malt Scotch, and thus that explains the Bourbon and Odd flavour profile. I did not know that (as I’m illiterate and forgot to take my medication while writing this). Thanks! TIL!

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: Lowland

Abv: 54.3%

Bottle No: 267 of 558

Distilled: 24/07/1991

Bottled: 24/10/2011

Matured in: Refilled Butt (it’s okay, I giggled too)

Colour: Light cocoa fat

Nose: Swampy, citrus rind, coffee, almond extract, peat, sour pear, caraway

Like a Jurassic swamp… I’d guess, as I’m not a time traveler (I don’t own a Delorean).

At first this can be really, really strong on the nose. There’s a lot of bog to sift through. This doesn’t act like a Lowland at all. It’s more like a strong, tough Highland or even an Islay.

Taste: Lime, spicy beef, smoke, lot of coriander, paprika, agave, seaweed, curry, cocoa

I could go on all day about the amount of different flavours of spices that came off of this, but suffice to say, it has a lot of different, constantly changing spices, mixed with umami.

It’s almost like Blorgons made this dram! Or morlocks, take your pick.

Finish: Pepper, cinnamon, orange, tequila, lime, crab, wasabi, marzipan, fruit cake

More umami and fruit, which is really odd. The finish is the only part I’d call true to the Lowland characteristics. Almost like a Bourbon than anything else.

I’ll have to ask Mr. Peabody or Wishbone about the originals…. wait, that’s silly. Dog’s don’t drink whisky.

Conclusion: As Jules Verne the writer of the Time Machine, wrote in Journey to the Center of the Earth:

“We are of opinion that instead of letting books grow moldy behind an iron grating, far from the vulgar gaze, it is better to let them wear out by being read.”

In this case, this whisky should not grow moldy, hidden away somewhere, but rather be taken out and enjoyed by all. It’s a Lowland that does things a little bit differently, in ways that are quite tasty, and it should be celebrated and should be shared to inspire others.

85/100

Scotch review #102, Lowland #10, Whisky Network review #132

One thought on “Cambus 20 1991 Signatory Vintage Cask Strength Collection

Leave a comment