Buffalo Trace White Dog Mash #1

Buffalo Trace White Dog Mash 1 2.jpeg

Thanks to /u/devoz for sharing this sample with me.

A few people have asked me: Why do you review everything? And the answer I usually give is simple: Mental Illness.

But beyond that, I learn new things each time I review anything. And it’s taken me a long time to realize that white whiskies have something as well.

A lot of times it shows what survives from the start of the distillate to the end. And that’s pretty cool for a whisky nerd.

If they are made by a craft distillery, I typically don’t apply a score. I feel they are still figuring out their malt and are selling it to make ends meet. If they are made by a large distillery that knows what they are doing, has older whiskies out, and nonetheless releases a white whiskey? That’s a different story. I’ll score them like any other product. Just the way I feel, angry comments can be left below.

That leads us to Buffalo Trace White Dog Mash #1. My particular bottle of it was put into a mason jar with French Oak chips added to it. After 2 years it’s not white dog anymore, but it still needs time. Luckily devoz did not follow my lead so I can try it without oak influence.

Originally people drank this from the still because it made you happy and it was a perfectly good way to use any leftover corn. Then eventually some guy put a bunch in a barrel, and it got better, and we all got whiskey. Thank goodness for that guy. Here’s to you, guy.

This is now hipster fuel, allowing us (I don’t deny it) to drink like they did 200 years ago. You know, before it was cool. And this is mashbill #1, so not the rye or the wheater. The one I enjoy, in other words.

Let’s see how this tastes, shall we?

Buffalo Trace White Dog Mash 1 1.jpeg

Price: $25.75 CAD at the LCBO, though no longer available

Region: Kentucky

Abv: 62.5%

Colour: Clear

Nose: Earth, lemon/lime, dandelion, mulch

You gotta give this time. Lots of time. Not thyme, that’d be odd. Why even bring that up?

Initial nose is a lot of alcohol and burn. What a surprise from alcohol, eh?

Eventually you can pick out a citrus forward, but ultimately earthy dram. Lots of earth.

Taste: Grape/grappa, mint, cocoa

I’m not a grappa fan. Thus I’m not Italian. Also my family didn’t fuck in Italy, so that disqualifies me too.

Again, this needs time to open up more than just burn. I really do like sipping on it after 20 minutes. There’s a mint/cocoa note that really pops. However it’s still quite hot.

Finish: Clean, linen, cola

Clean, simple finish. Given even more time (geez, am I still drinking this days later?) there’s a cola finish. Like a low level cola.

Conclusion: I was actually surprised I liked drinking this for the taste given a long amount of time. Was it amazing? Oh, no. Trust me, there’s some better vodkas out there that have this beat. This is meant to go into a barrel. Come on people.

However compared to other white dogs? It’s pretty nice. I can find parts I enjoyed. I kept drinking it and really enjoying it even. The taste. The nose never went beyond citrus and the finish barely hit “cheap cola” levels.

Buy it if you’re interested, but otherwise it’s a silly idea. At least it’s a decent proof. Can’t wait until mine ages.

45/100

Bourbon review #193, Kentucky review #121, Whiskey Network review #1014

One thought on “Buffalo Trace White Dog Mash #1

Leave a Reply

