Redbreast 15

Redbreast 15.jpg

Had some time to kill. So what does a smart young businessperson like myself do when they have a few hours to kill before a whisky tasting?

Why you go for a walk in the cold out to a bar that just got in Pappy van Winkle 20 to see the price, that’s what.

I showed up to Rush Lane & Co. with the plan to have some of the above. However while the bar is well stocked and open when I showed up, unfortunately they were holding off on pouring any until a special flight was served for regulars. While that’s too bad for me, I appreciate them saving it for an interesting flight.

So what am I to do? Why try a sample of Redbreast 15 instead, as it’s been on my To-Do lists for awhile.

My current history with Redbreast has been a spotty one. I tend to gravitate towards other Irish Whiskey, if I’m being fair.

That said, at least Redbreast is something different. For instance, the Redbreast 15 is Single Pot Still whiskey, meaning this whiskey, like few others (Green Spot, for instance) is an Irish whiskey made by a single distillery from a mixed mash of malted and unmalted barley distilled in a pot still.

That’s different. And I do like different every so often. I’ve had the younger ones, so I’m interested in this one.

Thus let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Price: $124.85 CAD at the LCBO

Region: Ireland

Abv: 46%

Colour: 7.5YR 8/8

Nose: Red licorice, banana, cotton, sweet wheat, molasses, pineapple

Sweet nose, with some cereal balancing the whole thing out. Different notes. Not overly strong, however well balanced. Needed some time with this one.

I found out later that this was coloured, however at the time it reminded me of a lighter, fruity sherry cask. So be prepared for that.

Taste: Brown sugar, bean sprout, baked beans, honey biscuit, brine

All I’m saying is if you had ham to dunk in this whiskey, it would taste good. And you’d be surprised. Because you dunked pig in whiskey and ate it.

Ignoring my weekend plans for now, this has sweet and earth notes which dominate. Interesting blends, they go together really well, like good veggies at a restaurant, or the aforementioned ham dinner.

Finish: Alcohol, corn chips, light pepper, dry, salt & vinegar chips, mineral water, sugar cane

Finish is quite dry in flavour. Lots of different notes try to “rise up” to the top, however don’t quite make it. Or rather they are stopped by a drying influence.

Clotheslined, if you will (get it, drying influence). It’s nice, however goes a little overboard on the mineral side.

Conclusion: A good dram, not a great one. I think the nose and taste are the best parts, and the finish is hampered by too much drying notes. Some state this is the downside to a triple distillation, and I think that’s not always the case, but it’s slowly becoming evident it’s certainly something that happens often.

Part of me also wonders if this needed to be 50% at the end of the day. Or the start, take your pick. The nose was lighter than need be.

None the less, I enjoyed this over the younger version quite a bit.

81/100

World Whiskey review #209, Ireland review #36, Whiskey Network review #977

1001 Whiskies You Must Taste Before You Die review #323

One thought on “Redbreast 15

Leave a Reply

