Old Forester Classic

Old Forester Classic 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/Shaillur for this sample

Recently it’s been mentioned that I’m judging bourbon unfairly in comparison to Scotch. Which I can see, on some level.

Scotch, when done correctly, has a depth of characters, unique aspects, and overall can set off memories.

Bourbon, on the other hand, when done correctly, has big, bombastic flavours that are very distinct, are easier to taste, and can easily be discerned from one another.

That’s not to say I’m changing my old scores or how I like whiskey or whisky. Rather I’m keeping the above in mind for future reviews.

It’s also not to say that there’s no Scotches that have those big, bombastic (if simple) distinct flavours. And there are a few Bourbons that can have those insane complex flavours. We’re dealing in generalities here, that’s all.

So I’m whisky-ist, or something.

I’m keeping that in mind moving forward. First up? Old Forester Classic. This is the entry level whiskey from Old Forester. It has quite a few accolades. There is no “hype” in it. So I won’t hype it.

Let’s see how this tastes, shall we?

Old Forester Classic 1.jpg

Price: $36.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Kentucky

Abv: 43%

Colour: 10YR 7/8

Nose: Cinnamon, cranberry, white glue, corn, honey, cedar

The initial spice, red fruit/wood flavours are quite pronounced, but soon fade away. There’s random, not too strong notes. Some nice (honey) and others I could do without (white glue).

Actually I’m kinda sad I have to specify I don’t like the smell of white glue. At least it’s faint.

Taste: Cinnamon, cranberry, walnut oil, watery

Watery mouthfeel. Again, the spice, wood, and red fruit notes are the main parts, however the whole thing is quite faint. Not much to it.

Finish: Oak, butter, corn, cotton, lime pulp, peach

Finish has some more distinct flavours, however at this point it’s a little too late. There’s quite a bit of a pulp-y flavour. Some cotton, some corn.

Overall it’s okay, and better than the rest of the notes.

Conclusion: The flavours aren’t distinct, interesting, or particularly tasty. It’s faint, the mouthfeel is watery, and the finish is alright. There’s some rough notes, but oddly enough because the flavours aren’t distinct, I just didn’t enjoy it.

This is a pass for me. Not distinct, tasty, or interesting.

60/100

Bourbon review #175, Kentucky reviews #110, Whiskey Network review #943

1001 Whiskies You Must Taste Before You Die review #316

One thought on “Old Forester Classic

Leave a Reply

