Kilkerran Work In Progress 6 Bourbon Wood

killwip.jpg

Thanks to my wife for buying this when I was wishy-washy and then mocking me constantly with it, all while trading people gin for samples.

I finally got to drink some guys! Only took a little while!

Well, I mean I got to drink some and review it. The last time I had this was after 11 other drams at a tasting I was running. And trust me, my notes were mostly finger paintings after having three CS Amruts.

Kilkerran Work in Process 6 Bourbon Wood continues where the Work in Process 5 left off. Anything else would be silly and a bad form of naming.

After 4 the two different Kilkerrans split off. Some went into Sherry casks, and some went into ex-Bourbon casks. And some experimental casks, but that doesn’t help us right now.

The youngest of the Campbeltown distilleries continued to sell them split up, leaving us whisky nerds to try and hunt them down. In this case, while I was in London in 2015, I walked into Cadenhead’s and asked if they had this offering.

I was informed they did not. And then one of the many posh gentlemen who are amazing at their job disappeared, muttering he may know where one is.

So I bought some other things. And he came out, giant Pink bottle in hand. Which is probably the best way for everyone for that sentence to end, rather than “giant pink [CENSORED] in hand”.

I’ll let you fill in the blanks, it’s more fun that way.

My wife bought the bottle as I totally cheaped out, and has been trading it for gin. I bought her a bottle of gin, so we’re good now.

NAS, only ex-Bourbon wood, and still being worked on. Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Price: N/A

Region: Campbeltown

Abv: 46%

Colour: 7.5Y 9/6

Nose: Ghee, lemon tart, grape, peach, cola, basil

Quite a bit of butter on this. Some acid too, which pops up in different ways. Actually I’d say that the amount of acid is quite high.

Otherwise it tastes like when I finally get the pasta sauce going right, before the garlic. Which is a good thing.

Taste: Brown sugar, black pepper, ginger, basil, vanilla

Sweeter and hotter than I’d expect, given the nose. Lots of spice, with earth and sweet being the main elements.

It’s nice, but not too crazy. Subdued after a few months open.

Finish: Ginger ale, basil, caramelized onion, juniper, lemon

Spice on the finish is the main side of things. Oddly enough, it’s close to a gin, to me. My wife actually doesn’t like it. It has a lot of those sweet, acidic, and earth notes.

Conclusion: Quite a bit of earth. Where I associate other Campbeltowns with that pepper, smoke, and stone fruit profile, this seems to have gone for more of a herbal, fruit, and pepper note. Good differentiation.

Some of the notes are just too odd. Or too earthy. They need work to bring more sweetness out. I know the Kilkerran 12 is now out, so it’ll be interesting to see where they landed in comparison to the Work In Progress ones.

79/100

Scotch reviews #553, Campbeltown review #30, Whisky Network reviews #913

Leave a Reply

