Glen Moray 8 A.D. Rattray Cask Collection

GM 8 ADR 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/charlesdobson for the sample.

I was recently asked if I tracked a list of all of the distilleries I’ve had. The long version of the answer is technically, and the short version is kinda.

I do have a now ?famous? spreadsheet. And by famous, I mean a few people asked for it and I posted it, like, a year ago. None the less, I do keep track of each separate malt.

I spent a few hours the other day staring at it, trying to figure out how to convert that into a list where I can see what distilleries I have done and which are outstanding. Bourbon is being a giant pain, as… well I hate their naming.

But I got a Scotch one going, so that’s good. And upon doing that, realized that I’ve never reviewed (and thus never had) a Glen Moray.

So when I was offered a sample (in a swap) for Glen Moray 8 A.D. Rattray Cask Collection, I killed off two birds with one stone. I get to review another A.D. Rattray, which have mixed results and lead to fun times where my tongue is compared to a wood implement used to check once throat. Oh, and I try something from a “new” distillery.

New for me at least.

Glen Moray was founded back in 1897, and since then has had 5 master distillers. It was mothballed, as well as an off site for Aberlour production, closed down for that pesky WW2, and then bounced back.

Let’s see how it tastes.

GM 8 ADR 1.jpg

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Speyside

Cask Type: Sherry Butt

Cask Number: 900029

Number of Bottles: 60

Date Distilled: 12.04.2007

Date Bottled: 02.06.2015

Abv: 64.8%

Colour: 7.5YR 6/8

Nose: Sour red wine, papaya, red licorice, plum cake, graham cracker crust, sweet buns, roasted nuts

Comes off as a tart red wine at first, which I don’t mind. Given time, the sweetness comes, like when you’re face down in the pillow, I’m crying, and the old Super Friends theme song is playing.

Has some nice cakey-notes on the nose. Quite nice.

Taste: Anise, cherry, spearmint, sugared butter, sour cream

A lot less complex than the nose. We went from a full cake, the pinnacle of something being greater than the sum of it’s parts, to… well, it’s parts. More spice, the sour note persists, and spice.

Nice to sip on, but the nose sold me on something, and now I’m crying in the corner. Kinda like half the people who read my note above.

Finish: Pine nuts, mint, caramel, macadamia, lemon tart, wood, plum

Nutty finish (speaking of which…)

It’s not a dry finish either. Or rather it hasn’t become so dry that I need to write “dry”. It’s getting there. Certainly has aged nicely in a short time, however again, not as complex as I’d like

Conclusion: This has a nose to die for. If you’re a nose slut, then… well that’s an odd thing to call yourself.

However you’ll like this whisky. So there’s that.

There’s no off notes. Rather notes people may not like Anise, nuts, etc. This will be the kind of dram that either hits all the right notes or has parts you like. I fall into the latter. Rather than falling into a ladder, which would hurt.

82/100

Scotch reviews #544, Speyside review #165, Whisky Network reviews #904

One thought on “Glen Moray 8 A.D. Rattray Cask Collection

Leave a Reply

