GlenDronach 18 1995 Single Cask Tawny Port Pipe

glendro1995port.jpg

Thanks to /u/lasidar for a sample of this one.

Honestly, I have samples of GlenDronach Single Casks. I really, really do. I just haven’t gotten to them yet. Lots going on. Too much, some would say. And too many samples my wife would say.

None the less, thanks to my whisky friends, I get to try them. And today is an odd one. You see, typically these GlenDronach have a sherry finish or maturation. Specifically either Oloroso or Pedro Ximenez.

In the case of GlenDronach 18 1995 Single Cask Tawny Port Pipe, it was finished in the Finest Tawny Port Pipe. I believe it was aged in Sherry casks, however I have no way to prove that at all and may just be remembering that as something said while we were all drinking.

I personally like Port. It’s sweet and pairs well with cheese. Like my wife. But enough about my sex life.

Thus this seems right up my alley. It was made back when GlenDronach was still peated, has a port finish, and is cask strength.

Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Highland

Date Distilled: 15/12/1995

Date Bottled: 10/2014

Cask Type: Tawny Port Pipe

Cask Number: 5959

Bottle No: 46/692

Abv: 53.6%

Colour: 5YR 5/8

Nose: Papaya, caramel, ginger, black pepper, strawberry, peanut, cinnamon

Big amount of fruit on the nose. Really fruity. Nothing but fruit and some spice, some would even say. Like, a lot of fruit. Falling into a fruit farm while driving a banana shaped car, basically.

Little bit of nuts too, but that works with the fruit. Just don’t ask the lesbians.

Taste: Bubblegum, pepper, hot, blackberry, butterscotch, strawberry

More fruit. Quite hot, actually. Giving it time settles that down a little, but this is really, really hot. Given some time, it goes back to tons of fruit and now more butterscotch.

Finish: Cherries jubilee, pizza dough, tangerine, ginger, funk

Odd finish. Good amount of funk. Great cherry flavour, and reminds me more of a brandy than a Scotch. Also has a doughy flavour that I’m not a fan of.

Conclusion: This is a pretty brash, fruity dram. It heavily leans on the fruit. Actually if there wasn’t any caramel and it didn’t say Scotch, I’d be confused.

The cask (or potentially casks) have added quite a bit of flavour. And if that’s your thing, you’d be happy with this dram. I personally found it quite hot, the finish had this dough flavour, and the nose was your typical sherry bomb. It’s nice to sip on, however I know GlenDronach can do better given time and the nice casks, so I probably wouldn’t buy a bottle.

Still would take another dram though.

82/100

Scotch review #539, Highland review #91, Whisky Network review #898

Leave a Reply

