William Larue Weller (2016)

wlw2015.jpeg

Thanks to /u/devoz for sharing a sample of this

Funny story: I’ve never had all of the different offerings of the Buffalo Trace Antique Collection. I’m missing one. Well, before this review, I’m missing one. Wait, two. I’m missing two.

It’s been a rough month. Or two.

Or quarter.

And you’d think, given the amount of reviews I’ve done, that I probably should have at some point. But I’m only human, and there’s a lot of whiskey out there to drink.

Not to mention hunting these down isn’t exactly easy. I’d imagine if I tried harder and maybe was more into Bourbon and had some extra cash, I’d end up with some of these.

But today I knock another off the list. William Larue Weller, specifically the 2016 offering. The only fully named version of the famous whiskey pioneer Weller who’s namesake would eventually make up half of Stitzel-Weller (guess which one? if you’re right, you’re literate).

This specific year of William Larue Weller is 12 years old (based on the letter), and in a production method pioneered by Weller himself, they use wheat instead of rye. The barrels were selected, but honestly, you just want me to review this.

So let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Price: $145 (CAD) if you can buy it from the LCBO, given the lottery.

Region: Kentucky

Abv: 67.7%

Colour: 7.5YR 5/8

Nose: Cherry, soft wood, peach/papaya, dry, caramel

Good amount of fruit in the nose. Quite dry. It’s not overly complex, however each note is quite strong on the nose.

It’s actually hard to describe the nose with words that make sense. I mean, re-reading this I wonder “What do I mean by soft?” and “how do I smell dry” and “where did my pants end up after that night”?

Taste: Cherry, dried ginger, caramel, banana bread, corn bread

Good amount of cherry and nice ginger. Lots of flavours. Good bread flavours. Love the banana bread, mixed with the spice, caramel, and cherry.

Corn bread is an interesting note. Any corn flavour that may be present has mixed with the sweet side of things. Quite tasty, dry, and good combination.

Finish: Wood, ginger powder, cranberry, orange, sweet butter, dry

Finishes with a great amount of wood. The ginger has slipped a tad. No longer those strong, flavourful ginger notes, but instead more powdery.

Love the finish on this one. Good mixture of flavours again, and the butter has blended into the other flavours to form really well developed butter notes.

Conclusion: Honestly really enjoyed this, and am surprised by the young age (young to me, not young for bourbon). This has big flavours throughout. Each flavour is distinct, pairs well with others, and well developed. The quality shines quite well.

I found a tiny part of the finish I didn’t like. The more I drank this, the higher my score went. At first I thought I enjoyed the THH 2011 more, and on some levels, I think it was more complex. That said, this is a different kind of whiskey, with strong flavours, nice caramel, and well developed fruit.

85/100

Bourbon review #169, Kentucky review #106, Whiskey Network review #894

1001 Whiskies You Must Taste Before You Die review #310

One thought on “William Larue Weller (2016)

Leave a Reply

