Bruichladdich 3D3 Norrie Campbell [Via Allegro Review Set #1]

Bruichladdich Norrie Campbell 3d3 2.jpg

This has been a rough year. Probably rougher for some more than me. However it has been rough, none the less.

To make up for it, my wife and I decided to treat ourselves a little bit more this year. Additional trips, more date nights, and just enjoying things. We hope that in the coming weeks things will start relaxing a little more, and we can start just living life well again.

That brings me to the nice background in the picks above. You’ll notice that it’s not me trying to direct it away from the TV so I don’t get judged for watching superhero stuff all the time.

The nice background is none other than Via Allegro. Words cannot describe the sheer amount of Scotch and other whiskies, as well as wines, grappas, and many other delectable drinks there. To truly give you an idea of how many, Whisky Magazine of London, England awarded them the Supreme Whisky Award for Best Scotch List in the world.

Not Canada – The World.

I originally came to Via Allegro to have two drams: Unfortunately one wasn’t available, and another was placed quite high up, and because I didn’t give them advance notice, wasn’t available. That said, I’ve been asked back, which I will be taking them up on, and have been promised another wonderful evening. They also more than made up for it in great service, and delectable food.

As well, the head Whisky Expert and Sommelier personally recommended Bruichladdich 3D3 Norrie Campbell. This limited edition would be one of the first of the 3D series that I’ve ever had.

From what I can discern, the 3D series is made up of different peated whiskies mixed together and released. Eventually they were made up of the Port Charlotte series and the Octomore series.

This was the third edition of the 3D series, and this version was made to honour Norrie Campbell. Norrie was a much loved peat cutter from Islay who passed away in 2006. Before we all get #fuck2006 to make up for #fuck2016, we should be proud that a company like Bruichladdich would go so far as to name a whisky after a working man like Norrie.

And then we can start blaming the year again.

Norrie Campbell was the last Islay peat cutter. He worked from the age of 12 to 59, lifting peat by hand. He was the last person on Islay making a living doing so.

This version of Bruichladdich 3D is made up of three malts: Bruichladdich, Port Charlotte, and Octomore. All are at different peat levels and at different ages.

So that is the long drawn out story of how I found this. If it doesn’t wet your whistle, then I don’t know what will. Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Bruichladdich Norrie Campbell 3d3.jpg

Price: N/A at the LCBO at the moment

Region: Islay

Abv: 46%

Colour: 2.5Y 8/8

Nose: Rich peat, pear, pecan, anise, raisin, cocoa, strawberry

Really rich peat. It’s been awhile since I’ve had a very peated, but still quite complex and interesting dram.

Lots of different flavours. Good pairings all around. hard to find something that doesn’t get along with another nose note.

Taste: Cream, anise, marzipan, roasted chestnuts, cucumber, root beer, cement

More nutty on the taste than the nose. If you aren’t into nuts, then I wonder why you read my reviews (what with all the dick jokes), but also may not like this dram.

Yes, I know cucumber doesn’t have a lot of taste to it. It was the closest I could figure out. The cement note was also the best I could figure out, from my construction days.

Finish: Peanut brittle, fennel, smoke, dry, grape nut, coconut, burnt sausage

Do grapes have nuts? I member.

The finish isn’t as sweet as the taste. It’s well balanced, has some unique notes, and overall leaves you wanting more and more, wondering how many organs you’ll have to sell to pry this from a collector’s hands.

Three. The answer is three.

Conclusion: This is one of those drams that you can’t find a bad point. It’s not going to blow you away like a Black Arts will, or have insane notes like a very old dram, however it’s been blended so well to show off the best of each dram. There’s no rough points. All the flavours work.

This is a work of love. And while I know nothing of Norrie Campbell, I can only assume that if a company dedicates something this well done, it’s at my loss for never knowing him.

85/100

Scotch review #519, Islay review #115, Whisky Network review #851

One thought on “Bruichladdich 3D3 Norrie Campbell [Via Allegro Review Set #1]

Leave a Reply

