Cardhu 12

cardhu 12 1.jpg

Thanks to /u/Phreaky-Zee for this sample.

Hey, look, finally a whisky that’s probably easier to find for people here!

I sometimes wonder, after going through all the whiskies I have, if my reviews aren’t read as much because they are all IBs. And that could be the case. Nothing I can really do, as I’m not going to spend a month re-reviewing lower end malts just because.

Frankly I have too many current ones to do.

That said, it is nice, every so often, to come back to Earth with a dram. Keeps me grounded.

That brings us to Cardhu 12. The distillery is owned by Diageo, and they bring out two different drams: One a single malt (this one), and the other a NAS blended malt. EDIT: about 5-6 products (including a 15 year and 18 year), and I believe they are all single malts. There used to be a blended one, which caused a lot of confusion.

Cardhu malt grew because it’s one of the main ingredients in Johnnie Walker whisky. They have 6 stills, and all of their growth can be traced back to this popular blend.

So let’s see what the backbone of Johnnie Walker tastes without all those other pesky whiskies and grain whiskies in the way, shall we?

cardhu 12 2.jpg

Price: $74.95

Region: Speyside

Abv: 40%

Colour: 2.5Y 8/8

Nose: Peach, brown sugar, lemon, chestnut, carrot

Very light nose. Has a lot of sweetness to it. Takes a long, long time to pick up much.

There’s a little bit of acidity here, but the sweetness pretty much jumps it in a back alley and beats it up and then takes it into their gang,makes it sell drugs, and then they snap their fingers and dance. I guess. I’m not to up on what gangs do.

Taste: Carrot juice, Crystal Light water, orange, ginger

Really watery. I handed some to my wife, and she asked my why I watered this down, and then why I gave her flavoured water, and if this was alcohol.

So it’s kinda watery.

Has some sweet notes, but otherwise tastes really light on the tongue.

Finish: Cloves, orange water, nutmeg

Quick finish. Lots of spices, and the orange water. Like watered down Sunny-D. Or when you were a kid and tried to get the rest of the OJ out of the bottle by adding water.

Spices are nice. Quick, barely there, but nice.

Conclusion: A pretty watery, forgettable dram at the end of the day. I can see what may start as a nice base for a blend. Without any Abv or lots of age though, I can’t really recommend this. It’s too weak, doesn’t have too much, and mostly tastes like watered down orange and carrot juice.

If you want something that’s really easy drinking, this could be for you? I much prefer most, if not all of the Johnnie Walker line up (not Red).

Pass.

58/100

Scotch review #517, Speyside review #154, Whisky Network reviews #837

1001 Whiskies You Must Taste Before You Die review #303

One thought on “Cardhu 12

Leave a Reply

