Virginia Black

Virginia Black 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/jolarbear for this sample. I think.

In the immortal words of Ashley from Degrassi: The Next Generation: I’m not ready.

Luckily Drake has my back in the very next line: Good. Because to tell you the truth, neither am I.

But perhaps I’m jumping ahead: Lat me show you what it is. Because when talking about this whisky, yall don’t really even know me.

Virginia Black is the newest whiskey on the market, and it’s brought out in partnership with Drake. Granted, some of you may have heard that it’s driyyu baby, and that you already know what it is.

For the rest of us, we’re hoping it’ll be all I ever wanted. We could do it real big, bigger than you ever done it. However let’s not get ahead of ourselves before we attribute it’s ability to be hittin’ all the spots that you ain’t even know was there.

That’s why I’m here. To see how it tastes. You can Thank Me Later.

The whiskey itself is purchased from MGP, aged in Kentucky (I only guess because they state it’s bourbon in press releases I’m drunk), and is a mixture of 2 year, 3 year, and 4 year bourbons.

Granted, it’s made by Proximo Spirits, who refuses to be forgotten. So they took a change with their heart and they certainly feel it taking over.

Let’s just discuss the bottle first: It truly does exude a World series attitude, champagne bottle life. It looks like something that comes with a model wife.

Great design. Stands out at shelf. Makes you say, “Oh you fancy huh?”

But enough about the background: I’ve been in this club too long. But I’ve been drinking so much that I’mma drink this anyway.

Virginia Black 1.jpg

Price: $39.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Kentucky (through MGP)

Abv: 40%

Colour: 2.5YR 3/8

Nose: Nail polish remover, almond, soft wood, lime rind, hazelnut creamer

The reason I wrote this review is I had someone tell me it fell off. Ooh, I needed that.

Given time though, the initial rough element was pushing me away so I give it space. Time gives us some almond, wood, and young notes.

Man I wish I had help with these reviews, it’s hard to do these things alone.

Taste: Nutty, brine, corn, licorice

If you’re reading this, it’s too late. I’ve drank it. Sure, it’s light, and weak, and has all the normal flavours of a smooth, young bourbon. But I’m Harlem shaking through the pressure.

Sure, it doesn’t move the game up, and perhaps I’m reckless saying that, Because after posting this, I got a lotta people tryna drain me of my energy.

Finish: Olive oil, walnut, wood, canned peaches, cereal

This sound like some forty-three-oh-one shit, but the end reminds me of a Canadian whisky in some ways. Which in some ways makes me say I pray to make it back in one piece.

Conclusion: Enough quotes. If you caught them all, congrats. I actually enjoy his music, even though I only started listening to it for this review.

At the end of the day, this is a young whisky that is made to be shot and not drank slowly. It’s slightly better than Jack Daniel’s. In minute ways. There’s not a lot to it, it’s young, and it has a cool packaging.

I’m proud of what Drake has done, specifically for himself, and for the city of Toronto. I may not agree with some things he does (this whiskey being one of them), but I can’t discount his help in making Toronto a city to look at in North America.

This whiskey isn’t good. Buy a Drake album, or listen to his music on Spotify, or go to a Raptor’s game or hope that the Jays beat the Cleveland Crackers right now. I hope the next time he puts his name with an alcohol, I’ll enjoy it.

Until then, I hope he takes me serious when I ask that he Please Forgive Me. Though after reading this far, I understand that Nothing Was the Same, If you’re Reading this it’s too late.

51/100

Bourbon review #147, Kentucky review #101, Whiskey Network review #810

2 thoughts on “Virginia Black

Leave a Reply

