Colonel E.H. Taylor Jr. Cured Oak

CEH Cured 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/I_SAID_NO_GOLDFISH for this sample.

Hey, look at that /u/TOModera guy! He’s reviewing a bunch of High End bourbons…. is he dying?

No, just getting stuffed like Chuck Testa. And I don’t mean food. DICK JOKE!

Anyway, there’s my dedication to Amy Schumer. Moving along, we have another one of the seemingly random and genius whiskies released by BT each year that makes us Bourbon nerds swoon and wet our collective shorts.

Or maybe that’s not the point, but we act like a bunch of American girls seeing the Beatles for the first time at this time of year, and since I’m always a year behind, it’s go time.

Colonel E.H. Taylor Jr. Cured Oak is a 17 year old, bottled in bond aged in good ole Warehouse C. So what’s different? Isn’t this just a high Abv. Eagle Rare?

Well no. See before dumping in whisky, the staves used for barrels are typically dried/aged outside for 6 months. Six months seems like a long time, but that’s the typical.

Instead, with help from Independent Stave Company (the Staves will rise again!), the oak staves were dried for 13 months. That’s over 9000! Or at least over double the time. I really can’t communicate unless I’m making pop references. I’m a Millenial.

Okay, so it’s a nicely aged, high proof, and has an interesting change up in how it’s made. Will it work? Who knows. They waited 17 years to see if there’s a difference. That’s pretty bonkers. There’s a chance that whomever made up this idea could be long gone by now.

I mean… 17 years ago if I thought I’d try something for the whole time, I’d be sitting here 600 pounds and still eating a pan of brownies a day.

Let’s see how this tastes, now that I’ve put that morbidly obese vision in your head.

CEH Cured 1.jpg

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Kentucky

Abv: 50%

Colour: 2.5YR 4/10

Nose: Cherry, dry oak, red grapes, lime zest, chocolate chip mint ice cream, caramel, tarragon roast beef, cantaloupe

Wow. Big fruit flavour. And of course, oak. Lots of oak. Takes awhile to get past the forest for the trees here.

Wait, I’ve made that joke before. Dammit. This is what happens when I’ve nearly hit 100 Kentucky reviews.

Quite complex. There’s a lot of spice, meat, fruit, and even a deeply hidden desire to have chocolate chip mint ice cream.

Thanks Buffalo Trace!

Taste: Normandy butter (really good, really strong buttery flavour), chestnut, artichoke, walnut, almond paste

So not as complex as the nose, which is too bad, but I’m not too angry. Because butter. I love butter. And this has a rich, good butter flavour. Like the cows were massaged by screaming Japanese girls (cows are freaks). That good.

Nice earth elements. Really easy drinking, but not just something smooth, has some nice flavours, no burn.

Finish: Cherry, oak, peppercorn sauce, asparagus, salt

So… not a lot on the finish. Don’t get me wrong. This is quite tasty, and I’m still not getting rough notes. But this finish just doesn’t do much.

I love the peppercorn sauce. And the earth is continuing to be nicely vegetal and really tasty. It’s just… not blowing my mind?

I’m going to be banned from Kentucky, aren’t I?

Conclusion: Okay, so scoring something like this is really, really hard.

I think the Tornado Surviving is better, but the nose on this one is more impressive. That said, while this was an interesting experiment, and it certainly created a change, the drying of oak staves for longer can’t be the only “thing” going on.

Otherwise we end up with a front loaded whisky that smells like it should be worth $800 but, IMHO, isn’t. And I don’t blame Buffalo Trace for that at all. It’s us, the hardcore whiskey nerds who over react to things are to blame for the high price.

This is good. Not great. That’s about all I can say. Hopefully the Seasoned wood is better.

80/100

Bourbon review #142, Kentucky review #99, Whiskey Network review #797

One thought on “Colonel E.H. Taylor Jr. Cured Oak

Leave a Reply

