Tin Cup

Tin Cup 2.jpg

Different bar. Need to sit down. Walked too much. Much too fat for all this walking. Fatty needs a bourbon.

Why? Well because I’ve reviewed everything else and I can’t drink without reviewing anymore. It just doesn’t happen. Like I can’t have a boner unless she’s up to her tits in chocolate pudding and wearing a sailor suit.

But enough about last Tuesday. This is about bourbon, dammit!

Tin Cup is a famous movie that precedes the themes made more famous in Happy Gilmore by showing a golfer who isn’t stuffy and does wacky shit.

The Tin Cup whiskey has nothing to do with that at all. Kevin Costner doesn’t even like you bringing it up. Or hiding in his bushes, but I’m sure the police were called for the first reason, not the second.

Tin Cup is made by Jess Graber, who also helped co-founded Stranahan’s. So basically every single Colorado whisky I’ve had so far is made by one man. This one is sourced, from what I’ve read, from Indiana, and then cut with Colorado water and bottled at Stranahan’s.

I’m so diverse in my reviews.

The main marketing behind this one is it’s rough and tumble bourbon-style whisky made for the mountain. Oh, and the cap can be used to drink it wherever you take it.

Hiking and drinking. My kind of dangerous activity. Let’s see how it tastes when I’m in a pub and just walked a lot, shall we?

Tin Cup 1.jpg

Price: Not currently available at the LCBO

Region: Colorado

Abv: 42%

Colour: 2.5Y 8/8

Nose: Orange, oak, ginger, butter, caramel

Simple nose. Like the inclusion of ginger, butter, and orange. They pair well together.

Is it still a pair if there’s three of them? I’ll ask my wife.

Okay, back. Sleeping on the couch now. Don’t know why.

Taste: Caramel, orange, oak, nutmeg

Nothing too out of the ordinary here. More orange, more oak,, and some spice. This is nice to sip on.

No rough points, though it does taste a little watered down. Though I guess that’s part of the Colorado charm, right (I’m being cheeky here).

Finish: Cardamon, brine, an entire crop of ginger, caramel

Lots of ginger here. Takes over any other senses. Sure, I may have noticed the consistent orange flavour or even a surprise bring, but… Then I was hit by the ginger and it all kinda ended there.

Conclusion: It’s an okay whiskey. Nothing too special about it, save the water it was cut with. I mean, I could have this, drink it, mix it, and even drink it while doing dangerous rock climbing with my friends in a not-homosexual way at all.

There are worse whiskies out there, sure. But there’s also better than one that seems to be mostly marketing from it’s parent owner, Proximo. So I’d do a hard pass on this one, unless you really really want the metal capped shot glass.

67/100

Bourbon review #140, Colorado review #4, Whiskey Network review #788

One thought on “Tin Cup

Leave a Reply

