Aberlour a’bunadh batch 6

aberlour abunadh 6 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/slackerdude for this sample. I think. Correct me if I’m wrong.

There’s an odd reaction I have when I’m offered a dusty. On the one hand, I want to give someone what they would get.

On the other hand: Some of you motherfuckers are crazy when it comes to dusties. And that drives up the price. And that means I gotta offer more.

Let’s add to the fact that just because something is old doesn’t make it good. If you want to prove that, try drinking out of ancient pots and see how long until you get your lifetime supply of lead in your system.

When I was offered a sample of Aberlour a’bunadh batch 6, I didn’t know how to react. For one, /u/slackerdude is pretty awesome, and I don’t want to fuck him over. But it is a whisky I loved, and a once in a lifetime opportunity.

I swapped him for it. Because.. well, shit man, when am I going to be here again? And I just got around to trying it. Because I have a huge backlog.

Aberlour a’bunadh batch 6 is a NAS cask strength version of the Aberlour we all know and love. The company is well known for bringing lots and lots of these out, and variance between casks is probably the most of any Scotch I know of.

And that’s a small sample, I know. But I feel I can say it with the confidence that when I’m proven wrong, I’ll just chalk it up to being human.

Enough jibber jabber, let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

aberlour abunadh 6 1.jpg

Price: No longer available in Ontario

Region: Speyside

Abv: 59.9%

Colour: 10R 3/8

Nose: Cherry, brown sugar, homemade cranberry sauce, margarita, alcohol, strawberry

Big, tart flavours on the nose. This whole thing smells like cranberry sauce. And not the creepy shit from a can, the homemade, really tasty stuff.

Good amount of acid, however it’s not as sweet as Batch 45. It’s certainly smells as strong.

Taste: Caramel, butter, strawberry, ginger, anise

Less complex than the nose would have you believe. More spice, some sweetness, and some acid.

It’s missing something. Can’t quite put my finger on it. I want some cinnamon or some more strawberry or more sweets.

Finish: Black pepper, grape, mineral water, craisins, orange rind

Strong finish on this one. So it has that going for it.

That said, it’s missing any sweets at the end. It’s tart, huge tart bomb. Massive tart bomb. Like, if you found a whole bunch of slutty women from the 1950s, and exploded them, it would be less of a tart bomb.

Conclusion: I think I can tell the difference between this batch and Batch 45. 39 batches of experience. Maybe also a drier sherry was used on this one. Or maybe the acids didn’t jive as much.

Or maybe it wasn’t a good year for Spain. Or Scotland. We’ll never know. What I do know is this batch would be preferred by people who aren’t sweets crazy like me.

In the end it is what it is. I enjoyed it, and I’m happy to have tried it. I think I’d offer it to anyone who wants a more dry sherry influence. Not for me, maybe for you.

82/100

Scotch review #468, Speyside review #140, Whisky Network review #763

One thought on “Aberlour a’bunadh batch 6

Leave a Reply

