Glenlivet XXV

Glenlivet XXV 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/Tsefly for this sample.

Been a busy couple of weeks. And not “I gotta catch’em all” busy, that just started, and can be managed easily enough.

No, more like “I want to get off Summer’s wild ride”, which sounds awesome at first. Summer sounds like a real goer.

Unfortunately, if you’re like me, Summer keeps going and you’re pushing rope and punching dust (or chafing hard and numb around the maidenhead, for the ladies). It’s all a little much.

So when I finally decided that the long weekend in which our plans were cancelled was a drinking weekend.

And I walked around catching Pokemon and then drank. Honestly, if less peaceful countries could do this, there would be less wars (except for the eventual Team Red vs. Blue wars, but those have been coming for a long time now).

And why not start off with a bang? The Glenlivet XXV is a twenty five year old malt. You may have assumed that if you knew Roman numerals, but honestly we don’t use those except for movie titles so who gives a shit? I’ll point it out.

This one is finished in Oloroso sherry casks for a couple of years. Which is nice. I like sherry casks.

And beyond that? Well it comes in a nice box. And so do I, but let’s not talk about my sex life.

Let’s just see how this one tastes, shall we?

Glenlivet XXV 1.jpg

Price: $349.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Speyside

Abv: 43%

Colour: 2.5Y 7/8

Nose: Caramel, coconut, wheat, mango, Malibu rum, orange, lemon, currant, floral

Very much a coconut note here. Lots of floral and fruit notes, as expected from Glenlivet. Nicely balanced between the two.

Don’t expect a sherry bomb or anything like that. This is more of the smooth side of the coin. What that coin is, I don’t really know, it’s just a coin.

Taste: Caramel, floral, pinenuts, Sprite, oak, mango, salt

Less complexity than the nose, which is sad. Again.

I like the caramel and salt parts. They pair well with the acidity, and the nuttiness jumps in and makes for a nice threesome in my mouth. But who wants to talk about last Wednesday?

It could be a little more complex here. Glad they added the Oloroso influence, as I think it brings up the spirit here.

Finish: Mangosteen, lemon, club soda, coconut milk, mint, orange pekoe tea, rosemary

There’s the complexity I used to know (like, three seconds ago).

Nice drying element, good amount of fruit, and creamy, almost herbal but not overly herbal finish. Tasty and nice finish. Getting to the complexity I wanted.

Conclusion: I have had a few older whiskies that don’t need the strong influence of a cask strength. This, unfortunately, does not number among them, however comes close.

It has elements of really nice complexity. Elements I enjoy, with nuts, caramel, salt, and different tropical fruits. However I think that either it needed more time (which I doubt) or the water (which I suspect) has dulled this one to the “smooth” category.

It’s a good Glenlivet…. assuming I ignore the Glenlivet’s I’ve had that are Cask Strength. And in doing so, I say try the Nadurra line over this one. This is nice, however could be better, and unless you’re really into the light, smooth aspects of Glenlivet, it’s a pass for me.

79/100

Scotch review #459, Speyside review #135, Whisky Network review #752

1001 Whiskies You Must Taste Before You Die review #296

One thought on “Glenlivet XXV

Leave a Reply

