High West Midwinter Night’s Dram – Acts 2.1 & 3.2

HW MWND 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/devoz and /u/stinkysauce for these samples.

Hey… about to hit 750 total reviews. That’s 3/4 of 1000, and like… a lot.

I should do something special. Not like “short bus special”, because that movie was awesome and you should watch it.

Just not with your parents. There’s a lot of sex in it.

No, rather special like… something people give a shit about.

Or I could just rip off something /u/devoz has done before.

Hmmm… yeah, let’s just do that. There will be more times to do something special. Like when I fuck my own hand.

So instead, today, I’ll be reviewing the last two of the Acts of High West Midwinter Night’s Dram. I had previously reviewed Act 1. Which I’m sure was a great help given how easy it was to get.

(sarcasm)

None the less, this was (and still is) the dram to find, if the Internet is to be believed. But they made Cat videos super popular, so I should take their word for it.

For those of you not in the know, High West Midwinter Night’s Dram is made by first starting with the Rendezvous Rye. Then they age it in Port Barrels and French Oak Barrels.

Then they call in a young priest and an old priest (Citation needed). It gets muddled at that point, so they don’t let anything out after that.

Oh, and it’s named after a Shakespeare play. I think Romeo and Juliet, but don’t quote me. You may need to Google it.

Let’s see how the different Acts taste, shall we?

HW MWND.jpg


HW MWND 2.1 1.jpg

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: Utah

Act 2.1

Abv: 49.3%

Colour: 5YR 4/8

Nose: Plum, orange zest, papaya, butter, dandelion, ginger

In Act 2, scene 1 of the famous fairy play, the beginning of conflict starts with each of the characters in conflict, and Puck begins his trickery.

This whisky is similar, as I’m at conflict with it. On the one hand, I, like many like-minded whisky people, enjoy an odd cask influence. And like Titania to a man with an ass’ face, I’m drawn to enjoy the fruit therein.

However there’s another side. Perhaps the spell isn’t strong enough, but it’s missing… something. Perhaps more spice influence.

Taste: Papaya, butter, black pepper, wheat, ginger, caramel

Again, we see fruit and butter working together here. However that’s about all the different casks do to the taste. Beyond that is a hot, spicy, and caramel flavours. Certainly not bad flavours, or bad to taste.

I guess I’d say this: The port cask wasn’t reactive enough, and the French Oak may have been too much.

Finish: Cinnamon, orange, cranberry, ginger, oak, strawberry jam

This ends really nicely, as nicely as I’d like to expect all of it to be.

It’s spicy and fruity. Two things I want it to be.

Conclusion: The finish is too little, too late. I feel like there’s a bunch of almosts here. It almost has the fruit, spice, and deep winter tastes. It almost has the nose I want. It almost has the amount of spice.

Still good, but I prefer Act 1 vastly over this.

77/100


HW MWND 3.2 1.jpg

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: Utah

Act 3.2

Abv: 49.3%

Colour: 5YR 5/10

Nose: Cinnamon, yeast, blueberry, lilet, oak, mushroom, plum, burnt sugar

More oomph to this one. Also yes, I forgot to finish this review before posting.

I’m a professional.

Lots of blueberry and floral notes. Stronger than Act 2, not quite as strong as Act 1. Still quite nice.

Taste: Butter, thyme, grape, mint, cantaloupe, cumin, faint papaya

It’s an odd mix of unique flavours here, all ruled by Butter (as it should be).

I’ve never cooked with cantaloupe before, however if I was going to, I’d be happy if it turned out like this. Weaker than the taste, and missing some of the winter/fall spices I wanted.

Finish: Plum, caramel, orange, cloves, ginger, grape jelly, brine

Nice finish. Back to winter spices, with orange, and caramel rounding it all out.

The bring aspect is a little odd here. As time goes on, this reminds me of a meat/fruit dish I made once. With purple jus and everything.

My family reacted as weirded out as you just did.

Conclusion: Act 3 is better than Act 2. It has more of the spices, big fruits, and nice buttery notes. That said, I’ll have to stick to liking Act 1 the best of the bunch. The taste was a little wonky for me overall, and while I like the nose and love the finish, it’s hard to get over the wonkyness.

82/100

Bourbon reviews #130-131, Utah reviews #8-9, Whiskey Network review #750-751

One thought on “High West Midwinter Night’s Dram – Acts 2.1 & 3.2

Leave a Reply

