Smooth Ambler Old Scout 7 Rye

SA Old Scout 7 Rye 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/lvl1dramacenter for this sample.

I kinda feel like I’m the last one to the party on Smooth Ambler Old Scout 7 Rye. I mean, yeah, the community review is just happening, and people are still buying it, but being in Canada means that half the time I have to remind myself it’s not some odd sex scrutiny by a Scout Master who loves Michael Jackson’s early work.

Think about that one for a second. I’ll still be here.

Back? Cool.

Anyway, Smooth Ambler Old Scout 7 Rye is made with a 95% rye, 5% barley mashbill, so that’s something. It’s also MGP, as everyone knows, as Smooth Ambler is too busy asking if Annie is okay, and have only just started making their own juice and aging it.

Not to be struck by a crescendo, I swapped for some and then promptly realized I had to catch up on samples from swaps.

And that’s why we’re here. I guess. It’s why I’m here. You may have other reasons.

Let’s see how this tastes, shall we?

SA Old Scout 7 Rye 1.jpg

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: West Virginia

Abv: 49.5%

Colour: 7.5YR 7/8

Nose: Honey, ginger, oregano, lime, orange, oak, mint, varnish, cinnamon

Dang gone it, baby, that is a spicy dram! This shows off the different aspects of a rye. Less floral, more spicy and sweet. That said, there’s still a floral aspect to it.

The young age shows in the oak/varnish combination coming through.

Taste: Mint, cinnamon, cream, cloves, basil, balsamic vinegar, light cantaloupe

The amount of spice makes me wonder if my tongue is okay. I keep asking “Are you okay?”, which given I’m asking, should tell me I am.

Once the spice subsides a little, there’s a deep flavour here and a light amount of cantaloupe. Reminds me of an odd summer salad in some ways.

Finish: Cinnamon, anise, coffee, lemon pepper, dry pear, rosemary

A little spice at the end gives mouth the mouth resuscitation. It’s quite dry.

There’s an earthy characteristic that mixes with the spice that tells my brain coffee. It’s quite odd.

Conclusion: All in all, a solid dram. Nothing gets too overly complex, however it certainly does wake one up with spice. I liked the finish for being what it needs to be: dry, okay length, and finishes well.

The odd off note can be ignored. This is a good value rye that will hit you like a smooth criminal.

83/100

Bourbon review #119, West Virginia review #2, Whiskey Network review #726

One thought on “Smooth Ambler Old Scout 7 Rye

Leave a Reply

