Glenfiddich 15 Distillery Edition

Glenfiddich 15 Distillery Edition 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/Phreaky-Zee for this sample.

Glenfiddich is a distillery I look at and wonder about.

Because let’s be honest: If you’ve read my reviews, you know I shit all over Macallan on a regular basis. And give Diageo a good, nice amount of ribbing too. Large company owned whisky makers usually don’t escape my biting tongue, which will mostly mean that companies stay away from sending me stuff.

That and all the times I talked about my dick.

But Glenfiddich somehow avoids the ire. Am I being paid off? No, otherwise I wouldn’t swap as much as I do. And if I had a way in with that company, I’d be working there, and drinking way more.

Glenfiddich is big, and does bring out “colour coding”, yet they haven’t gone completely NAS yet. They use okay casks. And I like a lot of their lineup.

Perhaps I’m just a biased fool who writes too much, or my brain has been permanently drunk for so long I can’t remember what to hate, but I do still enjoy a Glenfiddich from time to time.

So the idea of Glenfiddich 15 Distillery Edition is an exciting one. A cask strength Glenfiddich? Sign me up.

Decent price? Okay that has nothing to do with the review but sure! Sounds cool!

Not in the Solera casks that I didn’t like for the other 15? Even better!

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. I’ve set myself up before. All the stars have lined up just to burn me.

So let’s take a non-based view of this one and see how it tastes, shall we?

Glenfiddich 15 Distillery Edition 1.jpg

Price: $86.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Speyside

Abv: 51%

Colour: 7.5YR 6/8

Nose: Grapefruit, smoke, apple, orange, wood, butter

Tart start to it, with some smoke coming off of it. Not “Islay” smoke, more so “this has been in oak” smoke.

As time goes by, this seems like a more fruit forward version of the 12 year. And you will have no complaints from me on that. Any time we can have more than “just pear” on a whisky, I’m all for it.

Taste: Apple, grapefruit, butter, vanilla, caramel, pepper

Again fruit forward. Not massive flavours, more so just big flavours of what I expect from Glenfiddich.

The buttery aspect is new, and I like that. Could eat this with popcorn, if the smell of it didn’t put my wife into a rage.

And we can’t afford to be sued again after the Puppies at the movies incident.

Finish: Butter, mesquite, raisin, rosemary, oak, strawberry, peach

Again, not super complex, save for the mesquite aspects on this one. Still fruit forward too.

Note to self: Mesquite smoke a Peach Cobbler at some point.

The earth seems a little left field here. The smoke aspects work with the sweet, but not so much the oak or raspberry.

Conclusion: This is a nice dram from Glenfiddich. So I was right, I’m biased, then end.

Well… not really. I’m a fan of Glenfiddich offerings, so this should have been a no brainer. The amount of complexity should have blown me away. However we ended up with a Glenfiddich turned up to 11. That’s not a bad thing, it’s just simple.

Based on this, I’d say that Glenfiddich has been made to be a low-abv whisky and still leave a smile on your face. With time I think it needs those finishes to amp it up. That said, I will still hunt for some IB Glenfiddich’s as it could just be this batch, or the way they mixed it, to keep with the style.

80/100

Scotch review #430, Speyside review #131, Whisky Network review #686

One thought on “Glenfiddich 15 Distillery Edition

Leave a Reply

