Millstone 100 Rye

Millstone 100 1.jpg

Das is some vet friggin whisky Gast!

Chillen man, I’m going to lay it all down. Don’t get your Kut all worked up!

Well there’s my attempt to learn Netherland slang. Anything else is pretty messed up and I’m pretty sure I fucked up “kut” up there.

What? Oh, yeah, I’m here to review whisky and butcher slang of a culture. And I’m all out of culture.

Millstone 100 Rye is an interesting duck. First up, not a duck, which makes the most interesting ducks. I can tell because it’s liquid and a witch weighed less then it.

This guy ducks.

So why 100? Was it the 100th attempt? Was it made 100 years ago? Did 100 people make it? Is everything to do with the distiller lead back to 100 and he goes insane, eventually painting a 3 story tall painting? No on all accounts.

This is 100% rye grain, 100% small pot still distillation, matured for 100 months in 100% new American oak barrels and bottled at 100 proof. Now that’s a fucking lineup.

I’m 100% sure most of that is a stretch, but I like it. It shows they can follow patterns, which is pretty good in marketers and babies.

For those of you wondering, 100 months = 8 years, 4 months. I had a calculator, you can stop cheering.

Thanks.

So this is a very American style whisky from the super cool boys up in Netherlands. Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Millstone 100 2.jpg

Price: $69.95 (CAD) at the LCBO… though it may be out there.

Region: Netherlands

Cask #: 598

Abv: 50%

Colour: 10YR 6/8

Nose: Vanilla, burn, wheat, floral, cinnamon, plum

I could drink this and easily think the nose was a young Kentucky rye. That’s a good thing.

The alcohol/burn parts aren’t my favourite. I love the floral elements and that they made a floral rye, because I like flowers in my hair cause I’m a pretty girl.

Taste: Vanilla, burn, ham, sugarcane, pear, mushroom

Hmm… ham. Seriously, if you’ve never had ham, and you aren’t worried about going to Hell for trying it, try ham. Ham is SOOOO good.

Where was I? Oh yeah, whisky. Leave the other for my other blog, “TOModera’s eats pig like a fatty”.

Again, there’s some burn. Based on a website I read, the weather in Netherlands is moderate marine. Compared to Kentucky, I would think they’d want to age their whisky a little bit longer to make up for this. Or more to Kentucky.

Finish: Butterscotch, smoke, wheat, cumin, cinnamon hot candies

Finishes like a local sea based coffee places current specialty smoke and butterscotch drink made to entice yuppies. Which I like. Cause beyond being a geek and a hipster (no, no it’s true), I’m kinda a yuppie too.

The alcohol burn here is meshing a little bit better, leaving more of a “holy fuck” hot cinnamon taste.

Conclusion: This is like one of those setups to a Dear John letter (letters are things people sent via person before texting). It’s floral, spicy, has some good meatiness, and finishes quick yet with some sweet, nice flavours.

That said, if I mentioned burn again I would be angry at myself. It needs some time to mellow the fuck out. Water doesn’t really help this. It’s nearly there. Worth the money. Fun to have. Up to the quality levels that we

77/100

World Whisky review #140, Netherlands review #2, Whisky Network review #664

One thought on “Millstone 100 Rye

Leave a Reply

