Compass Box Flaming Heart 15th Anniversary Edition

Compass Box Flaming Heart 15 2.jpg

Thanks to /u/dustlesswalnut for this sample.

Let’s not beat around the bush: Mostly because there’s very few women who enjoy that (especially Lesbians).

Oh wait, maybe that’s beat off… my bad.

Anyway, what I’m saying is this: I’ve had other Flaming Hearts before, and I’m not talking about my time as a great African war leader and eating them to gain my enemies power. I’m talking about the other whiskies I’ve had.

And each time I’ve had a Flaming Heart (whisky), it’s been tasty. Right up my alley.

So when I heard about Compass Box Flaming Heart 15th Anniversary Edition, I thought “I should stay away from Africa due to war crimes”, and also, “Hey, that seems up my alley.”

So there’s my bias. For whisky. And roving bands of murderers based in colonial history as well as historic tribal conflicts that were exasperated by said colonial carving up of the continent.

Where was I? Oh yeah, this whisky.

So here’s what Compass Box Flaming Heart 15th Anniversary Edition is composed of:

  • 38.5% Caol Ila 14 aged in refill American oak hogsheads
  • 27.1% Caol Ila 30 aged in refill American oak hogsheads
  • 24.1% Clynelish 20 from rejuvenated American oak hogsheads
  • 10.3% of married Clynelish / Tyeaninich / Dailuaine 7 which was finished in new French oak hybrid barrels for at least 2 years

And I think it’s pretty awesome that Compass Box listed this out. Because as a whisky nerd, I want to know how it was made, what went into it, and how it came to be. It makes me feel better about vatted malts, and interested in Blends in general.

And yes, I know I call this a blend when it’s vatted. Maybe. I won’t be the one to teach you that, as it’s a mental block probably caused by eating too many flaming hearts.

Ah, memories of Africa.

Anyway, let’s see how this tastes, shall we? I hope to gain the powers of my enemies all over again.

Compass Box Flaming Heart 15 1.jpg

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Blend

Abv: 48.9%

Colour: 7.5Y 9/6

Nose: Tires, cinnamon, strawberry, anise, sea salt, butter, rosemary, nectarine

Smokier than other Flaming Hearts, I’m going to say that’s due to the sheer amount of younger Caol Ila in the mix. However this is no one note, double ventricle heart of my enemies: No sir, it’s quite tasty.

Less red fruit on this one, and more butter and spice. I’m liking it. However I am a sucker for cinnamon.

Taste: Butterscotch, cherry, smoked riblets, molasses, cinnamon, mint oil

For some reason the spell checker won’t find riblets. Which is annoying, because they are so tasty, and this has it in spades.

Man now I want ribs.

Once you get passed the ribs (what’s the point?), there’s again lower red fruit amounts and more sweet and spice. Very unique, and quite complex as well.

Finish: Smoke, raisin, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, caramel, cocoa

This finishes like a smoked rum. Which I’ve never had. Or maybe that’s just the strength of my enemies talking. More so it tastes smoked at the end, and there’s aspects that remind me of rum.

However you probably already figured that out. While it’s good, the finish doesn’t really live up to the taste and the nose. If this were a weaker dram, it may be the strength.

Conclusion What’s not to love? You gain strength of your enemies, and the heart doesn’t go to waste?

Also what’s not to love about this whisky? Well, the finish isn’t as mind blowing as the rest, however the nose and the taste both have these really strong, well peated aspects that I love. It’s missing some of the red fruit aspects of it’s fore-bearers, however I think that leaves room for complex, new flavours, and of course, activities.

It’s a good dram, and best Flaming Heart I’ve had so far.

On this continent.

85/100

Scotch review #420, Blend review #46, Whisky Network review #653

One thought on “Compass Box Flaming Heart 15th Anniversary Edition

Leave a Reply

