BenRiach Finished Threesome Review [15 PX Sherry, Madeira, Sauternes]

A Threesome. The right amount in fornication, and in this case, missing a couple people but what the hey, let’s make some mistakes anyway.

Just with my liver instead of my penis this time.

(Editor’s Note: He’s never had a threesome.)

Hey! They didn’t need to know that!

Damn editors.

Okay, so I picked up some samples of BenRiach awhile ago, and have been meaning to get to them. This week seemed as good as any.

(Editor’s Note: Also helps that your wife has banned you from swapping until you finish 40 reviews).

Yeah, that helps too. Bias time!

(Editor’s Note: Doesn’t make the bias somehow cute!)

… Moving on… I love BenRiach. I love Glendronach. I’m very much biased for them…

(Editor’s Note: If it’s peated)

And as such, I’m biased. As heck. Also I like sweet wines too.

(Editor’s Note: Diabetes is like a superpower, right?)

Also I have this weird thing where I don’t LOVE 15 year old whisky. So. There’s that.

(Editor’s Note: Ageist fucker)

So… yeah, I’m looking forward to these. Granted I forgot one, so I’ll have to try another.

Let’s see how they taste, shall we?

Region: Speyside

Price: Not Available at the LCBO


2 - BenRiach 15 Pedro Ximnez Sherry Wood Finish.jpg

Everyone loves PX finishes. But why? Why is this the much beloved Sherry finish?

(Editor’s Note: You’re just saying that to bug people who prefer Oloroso)

Yes, that may be true. On a serious note…

(Editor’s Note: For once)

Some people love PX sherry whiskies. And they are vocal. I’m one of them. Only not vocal, as this is text.

(Editor’s Note: Pointing out the obvious joke, check)

I think it’s because Pedro Ximénez sherry leaves such a deep, dark fruit impact compared to the others. It goes well with peat and dark caramel older flavours.

That leads us to BenRiach 15 Pedro Ximénez Sherry Wood Finish. This is first aged in American oak bourbon barrels and then finish in sherry casks. How long in each? I don’t know.

I do know that this is the non-peated juice from BenRiach, so… at least that’s something I can share.

(Editor’s Note: Less offensive than normal sharing from you)

I’m starting to think hiring an editor was a poor idea.

(Editor’s Note: No kidding. Should have paid me)

Let’s just see how this tastes, shall we?

1 - BenRiach 15 Pedro Ximnez Sherry Wood Finish.jpg

Abv: 46%

Colour: 10R 4/8

Nose: Raisin, brown sugar, cherry, lemon, grape, cookie dough, white chocolate

Even though this is just a finish, it has the deep, strong flavours of the sherry throughout. The whisky itself is quite sweet, so that tames the sherry enough.

(Editor’s Note: That’s probably for the best, otherwise it’d taste like Sherry, and you usually only have the with tapas)

True. And I have no tapas.

(Editor’s Note: Because you’re a jerk and didn’t learn how to make tapas)

Is that sarcasm?

(Editor’s Note: Probably. Hard to tell from text.)

Okay then. Let’s move on.

Taste: Lemon, raspberry, molasses, pepper, cereal

Simple flavour. Really simple. The finish portion is here. It’s like a rum almost. A gold rum.

(Editor’s Note: Not that that’s a bad thing.)

Oh, no, it isn’t. I love /r/rum, and a nice gold rum.

(Editor’s Note: Good save)

Thanks.

(Editor’s Note: De nada. Now talk about the whisky again)

Ah, yeah. So it’s weak, and doesn’t have a lot of flavour or depth to it. Watery comes to mind, yet the mouthfeel is still good. So… bad oil then.

(Editor’s Note: Like the kind you go to war over)

Finish: Strawberry, earth, lemonade, cumin, raisin

Finish is a lot like the taste. There’s more earth here, less sweetness. I don’t mind it, it’s just not that strong.

(Editor’s Note: Like you)

Don’t know, haven’t tasted me before.

(Editor’s Note: Way to go. Set up your own sick joke. I’m clapping slowly right now.)

Dick.

Conclusion: It’s a nice dram, however… it’s missing something. That said, I’m usually not the biggest fan of BenRiach when it isn’t peated. So maybe I should have said that in the bias.

(Editor’s Note: Keep talking like that and I, as a joke, will be out of an existence)

That said, a good finish can turn around and improve any dram. This one it didn’t. I don’t know if it’s the casks, the general mixture of the cask and the whisky, or perhaps 15 years wasn’t enough. It’s pretty boring. Except for the nose.

So note that I’d rate this lower if the nose wasn’t so nice.

(Editor’s Note: Like a great lay with a Jewish person)

Holy shit dude, not cool!

(Editor’s Note: What? The chosen people can be great in bed. Racist.)

Moving on….

72/100


4 - BenRiach 15 Madeira Wood Finish.jpg

For a long time, I thought I didn’t like Madeira wine.

(Editor’s Note: Oh, yeah, we had that roommate who added too much Marsala wine to her pasta sauce)

Yeah, that’s the one. And Madeira and Marsala sound alike. That’s a problem I have.

(Editor’s Note: One of them)

Ahem, yes, one of them. I get names mixed up. Hallumi and Hominy, for example. Luckily I haven’t tried to add grilled corn as a side dish yet.

Though it doesn’t sound as bad now that I write it out.

(Editor’s Note: Story of our lives)

Moving on…

Up next we have BenRiach 15 Madeira Wood Finish. We don’t see Madeira as much as a finish…

(Editor’s Note: So you feel the need to explain it after reading Wikipedia once, thus making you an expert)

By Internet standards, yes, it does.

(Editor’s Note: Touché)

The Madeira casks used in this one comes from Henriques & Henriques Vinho, a winery located in the Madeira Islands. Which is needs to be. Otherwise it’s not Madeira and I’ve been lied to.

Also the winery shares a name with a famous footballer from the area and a former king of Portugal, but you don’t need to know that.

(Editor’s Note: Then why mention it?)

Ignoring you!

Madeira wine is a dry or sweet fortified wine that it typically consumed as an aperitif or as a dessert wine. That narrows it down.

(Editor’s Note: I think I was suppose to say that)

Quiet you!

(Editor’s Note: Okay)

They don’t specify which casks they used. And since this winery makes both sweet and dry wines, I’m going to assume it was the dry by jumping into the future.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Let’s see how this tastes, shall we?

3 - BenRiach 15 Madeira Wood Finish.jpg

Abv: 46%

Colour: 2.5Y 7/8

Nose: Sour grapes, pear, nutmeg, sandalwood, strawberry, orange rind

If you’re into a more sour smell, then this is for you. The wine has added in different levels of sour. I think sour’s a smell.

(Editor’s Note: No idea. Why not google it?)

All I got was something on swear.

(Editor’s Note: That’s still a smell though)

Good point. We’re good then.

Anyway, the BenRiach is more forward here, giving some nice spice. The sour is strong though.

Taste: Nutmeg, cocoa, cream, cinnamon, apple, pastry, cereal

Spicy. Nice flavour to it. Good amount too. I like the mixture of flavours, the blending of spice, and generally the creamy mouth feel.

(Editor’s Note: Like Sundays at the docks)

Wait, aren’t I suppose to make jokes about my sexuality?

(Editor’s Note: Thought I’d get you back for earlier)

And here I thought we were getting along…

Finish: Cumin, butter, cinnamon, pepper, pear, ash, grapefruit

The finish… needs some work. The earth elements of the wine are right up front. The ash is rough, the lack of fruit (until it sits out long) doesn’t help, and while it’s complex, I wouldn’t call it great.

(Editor’s Note: That would imply it’s bad.)

Okay, I’d say it’s jumbled and needs work

(Editor’s Note: Gotcha. Bad.)

Conclusion: The nose and taste are good. Good enough that I nearly want to buy a bottle, just as a unique dram. Then the finish comes in, slaps you around, and turns the bear around.

(Editor’s Note: Most people aren’t going to get that joke because it’s about a Canadian celebrity court case. Also it’s not done, so maybe it’s too soon.)

Screw you, I’m sticking with it.

(Editor’s Note: Your choice. At least you didn’t mention whisky having penises this time)

Usually it’s just one penis.

(Editor’s Note: Not really that big of a difference since that one AMA with the two dicked dude)

Okay, anyway, the finish pulls down the score like Cosby on a knocked out girl.

(Editor’s Note: Better. More topical)

And while it’s unique, the nose is polarizing. So try some of this one before buying. May score higher for you.

76/100


6 - BenRiach 15 Sauternes Wood Finish.jpg

Finally we have BenRiach 15 Sauternes Wood Finish, finished with casks from the Bordeaux region.

Sauternes is a sweet wine that gains it’s sweetness from a fungus that gets into the grapes.

(Editor’s Note: That sounds appealing)

Truffles sell for a lot and are tasty.

(Editor’s Note: I take it back)

That’s what I thought!

Again, it’s aged in ex-bourbon barrels before going into the Sauternes casks for a quick finish.

(Editor’s Note: Quick finish, wasn’t that your nickname in University)

High School, but who’s counting?

(Editor’s Note: I am)

Weirdo.

Anyway, let’s see how this one tastes, shall we?

5 - BenRiach 15 Sauternes Wood Finish.jpg

Abv: 46%

Colour: 2.5Y 5/8

Nose: Apple, cranberry juice, mint, cider, peat moss, pepper

Very different than the last ones. I can see why they only did a finish on these, as the unpeated BenRiach juice

(Editor’s Note: Should you call it Juice? That one guy gave you heck last time and he knows his shit, as evidenced by never posting anything and talking down to you)

I’ll risk it.

Anyway the sweet aspects really take center stage, though the mint and peat moss balance it out.

Taste: Pear, almond, Juicyfruit gum, mint, chlorophyll

I don’t know about anyone else…

(Editor’s Note: Probably no one)

BUT I used to be able to buy a Trident that was chlorophyll flavour. And this has it. It’s like a strong, leafy flavour. Or something. I don’t know, I’m just trying to explain the voices in my head.

(Editor’s Note: Except for me.)

Very juicy flavour.

(Editor’s Note: Neither of us are going for the pussy joke here, just keep reading)

I can see drinking this on a summer’s day and being refreshed.

(Editor’s Note: Still not going for it.)

Finish: Pepper, walnut oil, anise, lime, vegetal, tobacco, canned pears

Spicy finish. First really “oomph” on this one. Actually there’s a lot of pepper in the end and that makes me a sad panda.

(Editor’s Note: Here’s hoping South Park doesn’t sue us)

They won’t, I’m a small time schmuck on the Internet.

(Editor’s Note: That is true.)

Conclusion: Good, fruity flavour, nice nose, and very unbalanced peppery end. I like this, however the end can hit you up some fierce.

(Editor’s Note: Never deny your insane Hillbilly roots)

I won’t be doing that today at least. It’s a good dram. Probably second to the Dark Rum (see below for that review) of the 15 year old finished series.

I wish they had used the Peated variety, however I assume it’s out there, so I’ll search it out.

(Editor’s Note: Yeah, who needs savings?)

Glad we agree.

(Editor’s Note: I hate when you don’t get my sarcasm.)

I know. Say Goodnight Gracie.

(Editor’s Note: Goodnight Gracie)

79/100

Scotch reviews #416-418, Speyside reviews #125-127, Whisky Network reviews #648-650

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #274 (Madeira)

One thought on “BenRiach Finished Threesome Review [15 PX Sherry, Madeira, Sauternes]

Leave a Reply

