Benrinnes 23 [Pub L’Isle Noire Flight Review Set #1]

benrinnes 23 1.jpg

Hey Dram Fans, hope you’re having a nice day! I’m currently great because I’m writing up the second of a 4 part series on a pretty sweet pub called Pub L’Isle Noire, which if you’re ever in Montreal, you should check out.

Or don’t. I’m not your mother.

Anyway, I was sitting there, ready to do 4 reviews, one per region, and I realized something: Fuck Highland.

Wait, no. Don’t. Because then you’ll be having sex with an inanimate object. Unless of course your whisky is sentient, at which point you should run away fast from it, or realize that you’re in a mythical book I’m maybe working on.

So I may have lied before. I said that I only had one or two “bucket list” drams, when, in fact, I’ve had a few. And this ended up being one of them. I said “Fuck Highland” and skipped it, and jumped right into Benrinnes 23.

What else do you need to know? It’s limited edition, it’s made in 1985, and it’s /r/thick– ly sherried as hell. Also that link is NSFW

It’s also cask strength too, and hard to find as a thing in a hard to find place with lots of stuff.

That’s how tired I am folks. So let’s just see how this one tastes, shall we?

benrinnes 23 2.jpg

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: Speyside

Abv: 58.8%

Colour: 2.5YR 2/8

Nose: Chestnut, grapefruit, oaky, cherry, peach, red licorice

So you look at the colour, and hear about the dram being thick, and once your whisky-boner goes down… you relax enough to breathe, and smell… not red fruits?

Odd. It’s really well balanced. Sure, the red fruit elements pop up eventually, yet aren’t a sherry bomb like I know them. More so it’s really well balanced and acidic and oaky and sweet and everything that has to do with happiness in a sherried whisky.

Taste: Cherry, anise, lumber yard in Spring, basil, walnut

So some drams have lots of flavours. Some have complex flavours. Some have big, big flavours.

This one is more of the big, big flavours, yet at the same time the wood is so intense that it set off memories of going to the lumber yard and somehow not ending up covered in splinters and without digits, like my grand dad.

Finish: Anise, chicory root, strawberry, rosemary, blueberry, orange, pepper, ginger

This is bonkers. This finish is on fire! And not in that burning way, or in that “went to too many strippers” way. I mean insane, tons of flavours that are all really showing up and playing a good part.

I don’t even like chicory taste and I’d be sad to see it gone here. This is really good

Conclusion: So,,, yeah, I guess it’s okay. A good 4/7, if you get my drift.

Putting aside being a turd muffin, this dram is probably one of the best Benrinnes I’ve ever had. Well, wait, let me check my scores….

Okay, it’s up there. It didn’t quite go to the depths of others, however it’s super tasty, and for that I’m happy about it. The finish is well balanced and nuts, the nose is a great surprise, and the taste is well put together with good showing on each individual flavour,

I paid $28 for 1/2 a dram of this one, and I feel like I got my moneys worth. Trust me, it’s that good.

87/100

Scotch review #403, Speyside review #122, Whisky Network review #617

One thought on “Benrinnes 23 [Pub L’Isle Noire Flight Review Set #1]

Leave a Reply

