anCnoc 16

ac1

Actual first Scotch review of 2016! Yay!

Oh? No one cares? It’s an arbitrary date in time that really means very little and I’m happy due to being on vacation? Okay then.

There are some whiskies out there that are consistently offered up as recommendations. On here it would be Laphroaig Quarter Cask, Alberta Premium Dark Horse, Buffalo Trace, Yamazaki 12, and probably others I’m forgetting.

Out in the rest of the world it would seem to be made up of those as well, and anCnoc 16, which has shown up in 3 of my whisky books.

So I searched it out. And the LCBO delivered! With a Pony and Ice Cream and heaps and heaps of Gum Drop Sarcasm Hats!

So I searched some more. Finally I just gave up and bought a sample from MoM, because I had friends coming into town and thought it made sense.

This one is made by a distillery I never spell correctly and have alienated people discussing it, but named anCnoc to confuse me and me specifically. It’s matured in ex-bourbon barrels.

So, now that I’ve finally found this one… let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

ac2

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Highland

Abv: 46%

Colour: 5Y 9/4

Nose: Pineapple, sea air, mango, smoke, thyme

The one thing I usually find missing from Highlands is a pair of nuts. And I’m happy for that, because it would be insane to have testicles as part of whisky.

Granted I may be writing about Anthropomorphic whisky again.

In all seriousness, this has very strong, nice flavours. Herbal notes, nice sea air, and some saltiness mixed with the tropical fruits. It’s a good time.

Taste: Smoke, mango, chocolate, cereal, caramel, orange

More smoke, and a good amount of sweetness in this one. I now really want to have chocolate mango candies, however I’m trying to tame my sweet tooth moving forward.

Damn fat ass.

Finish: Pineapple, cinnamon, white chocolate, wheat, pepper, plum

Long, long, very super long finish. Probably one of the best finishes I’ve had all year (tee hee). In all seriousness though, it’s a well put together finish.

No complex flavours on this one, however it goes for so long that I give it bonus marks.

Conclusion: A solid, solid dram. Really good. Didn’t set off memories or have super complex notes, however it’s well balanced, has a good mouth feel, is tasty, and nice to drink.

Honestly, this should be a staple of anyone trying a nice whisky. A must buy, solid dram.

Solid.

84/100

Scotch review #401, Highland review #78, Whisky Network review #615

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #268

101 Whiskies to try before you die review #64

One thought on “anCnoc 16

Leave a Reply

