Macallan Ruby [Scotch Review #400]

Macallan Ruby 2.jpg

So here we are. At the end of the year. I have two more reviews, however given I’m tired out of my wits, have been through a certificate, a trip to the UK, started a new job, created a blog, kept my D&D game going, baked more than I should, and generally been really busy.

Also this is my 400th review. Somehow. So while I have more reviews to write, I’m going out (for 2015) on this one. Tartan me. I’m going into 2016 guns blazing.

I recently wrote about the Macallan 1824 range, so I won’t bore you with the details again. I’ll say this: The “top” of the range is Macallan Ruby, which I picked up to say I’ve tried it.

And I needed something super fucking special for a new milestone post, otherwise I won’t feel pretty and no one here will feel like they should have read this.

So, this is the high end of Macallan’s range because it’s ruby in colour. No added colouring, high end, super duper sherry casks used. No other information available, no other information given.

Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Macallan Ruby.jpg

Price: $349.95 (CAD) at the LCBO… and until January 2nd, comes with 100 bonus Air Miles!

Region: Speyside

Abv: 43%

Colour: 5YR 3/8

Nose: Cherry, plum, nutmeg, melon, chocolate, orange, smoke, almond

Good amount of notes on the nose. Really opens up compared to the others, and has a good amount of complexity. Somewhat surprising to me.

I’ll give them this: The Macallan malt mixes masterfully with Sherry casks. The chocolate and orange/cherry portions are really tasty.

Taste: Orange, brown sugar, melon, peanut, salt water taffy

Okay, not really that insane. Somewhat watery, if I’m being fair. The salt water taffy part is the real star here. Interesting flavour that I don’t usually find in Speysides.

Finish: Orange, wood, almond, chemical, cranberry juice, dust

Starts out like any other sherry finished whisky and then… there’s this chemical, bad dust taste that sticks around like some fat hungover asshole on your couch.

And to think he drank all your good beer and threw up on that one person you were trying to have coitus with.

Conclusion: Almost. Really, really close. Super close. And then the finish ruined it, which is too bad.

The nose was probably the most interesting part. It’s very well balanced. And the taste had a unique element, so I was willing to look past the watery parts.

Oh well. Out of all of these, the Sienna was the best one. I’m not angry about it, more so disappointed. I think if they brought out slightly higher Abv versions of this series, they’d get Whisky nerds interested.

For now they’ll just have to live with huge amounts of money from people who appreciate a nice nose and a smooth whisky. Oh well.

78/100

Scotch review #400, Speyside review #121, Whisky Network review #613

One thought on “Macallan Ruby [Scotch Review #400]

Leave a Reply

