Glengoyne 21

glengoyne 21 1.jpg

Friends of mine have different tastes in whisky. One is the person who gave me the plan to use the Munsell Colour chart. She doesn’t like Speyside whiskies, and we recently determined it was due to the sheer amount of oak in them.

The other is my oldest friend and the man who was my best man. He likes alcohol of all types, and we used to be Vodka drinking buddies. He has a varied pallette.

So when I say that both of them agree that this is one of their favourite drams, it should hold some gravitas.

Thus I had to try it. And since trying Glengoyne 21 meant I had to visit them and had to make a big ass order from two different whisky companies and then two more (I am so forgetful), I guess it all worked out.

So there’s that…

Uh…

How about the weather?

Oh fuck it, I guess I have to review the dram. I haven’t really been able to try many Glengoyne’s, which is too bad. I mean, it’s Highland whisky matured in the Lowlands. That’s crazy enough for someone like me to want to try.

And they once made one in Scottish Oak Wood. That just sounds neat! Oh well, let’s stick to Glengoyne 21, which is matured in first filled European oak sherry casks.

Enough jibber-jabber, let’s see how this one tastes, shall we?

glengoyne 21 2.jpg

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Highland

Abv: 43%

Colour: 7.5YR 5/8

Nose: Papaya, Sprite-y, caramel, earth, roses, birch, raspberry, nectarine

Immediately the long period of Sherry is evident. it’s spritey, which I have trouble using because I use Spell Check and also because I don’t know how to explain it. It’s like how spices make your tongue pop with excitement. Except now it’s in my nose, and like one ex-girlfriend used to say, I think I like it (she wasn’t a keeper).

Nice light notes here. Good amount of floral, earth, and even strong caramel notes.

I’m a happy person about it.

Taste: Strawberry, anise, pepper, cherry, brown sugar, brown butter

Again, the sherry takes centre stage at first, yet doesn’t become to overwhelming. Yes, there’s a lot of sherry in here. Yes, I’d probably say it’s more than I’d typically want.

That said, how do you disagree with brown sugar and butter? Unless you’re on a diet then “I guess I want to see my kids grow up”, then that’s how, but still… it’s really tasty.

Okay, fine. There’s a little too much sherry influence. I still enjoyed it.

Finish: Cherry, basil, cashew, anise, melon, ginger

Sherry influence? Yes.

As much as the taste? No. Maybe too much? Kinda, but not really the point. The earth spices as well as the nuttiness balance it all out, so I can’t stay made at it.

Conclusion: So yes, I bought into the hype from two of my friends on this one. And I can see the flaws in it for those reasons.

Looking past that, I also see a really nice drink. Something that isn’t 100% sherry, that doesn’t just taste of sherry notes, and that still whispers “hey, I’m whisky, also I’m inanimate and you may need to consult a psychiatrist because I shouldn’t be able to speak”.

So I enjoyed it. I was all set to either hate or love it. Because I knew I wouldn’t 100% agree with my friends. Do I love it? No, I want more whisky influence and I want more Abv.

Otherwise I want a bottle. Heck, in spite of that, I want a bottle.

84/100

Scotch review #396, Highland review #76, Whisky Network review #606

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #264

101 Whiskies to try before you die review #62

One thought on “Glengoyne 21

Leave a Reply

