Glenfarclas 1980 Christmas Malt [Mystery Review]

glenfarclas-1980-2013-32-christmas-single-malt-vl.jpg

Thanks to /u/j4ni for this mystery sample. He says it’s whisky. And stated he wouldn’t tell me what it is until I posted it after Xmas. Bugger

At the time of reviewing this I knew nothing, so I wrote nothing about knowing anything… so… there you go.

glenfarclas-1980-2013-32-christmas-single-malt-vl 1.jpg

I thought it was Apple Schnapps. Also it came in a Santa package, and that was super cute.

glenfarclas-1980-2013-32-christmas-single-malt-vl 2.jpg

Price: N/A in Canada

Region: Speyside

Cask Type: Port Pipes

Cask Numbers: 11074 / 11075

Distilled: 25.12.1980

Bottled: 28.10.2013

Age:32 years

Abv: 45.7%

Colour: 5Y 5/6

Nose: Apple, ginger, cinnamon, orange

Very fruity. My initial guess is this is a flavoured alcohol, possibly schnapps. I’m really thinking it’s really good apple schnapps. Has spice to it, and smells like warmed apple cider.

If there was any snow, this would make sense. Unfortunately we’ve fucked the planet, so… it goes well with the green grass we have going on right now.

Taste: Apple, cinnamon, cashew, oily

Good mouthfeel. Really no sense of being watered down. Quality spirit.

I still think it’s apple schnapps. I really think it is now. The cashew goes really well here, and the flavours are pronounced without being too strong.

Finish: Cinnamon, apple, lemon, nutty, pepper

You know how, when you have something flavoured, it can be overdone? That doesn’t happen here. Instead it’s nutty and cinnamon, apple, and still has some lemon and pepper to it.

Really, this is whisky? Odd.

Conclusion: I’ll double down on thinking it’s apple schnapps, because that was my guess before, even though I’ve been told I’m wrong.

That said, I’ve recently read that German whiskies use different stills and have elements of schnapps in them, so maybe this is a German whisky. Or perhaps, perhaps /u/j4ni [2] has made his own homemade apple booze.

Guess: Was super wrong

Actually Glenfarclas 1980 Christmas Malt

79/100

Scotch review #398, Speyside review #119, Whisky Network review #608

One thought on “Glenfarclas 1980 Christmas Malt [Mystery Review]

Leave a Reply

