Ancient Age

Ancient Age 1

Thanks to /u/I_SAID_NO_GOLDFISH for this sample.

Recently there’s been some talk about Buffalo Trace. If they are arseholes for their marketing or not. I don’t really know the people behind it. What I do know, though, is marketing.

This may come as a surprise (or not, I overshare), but I’m in marketing. Yes, I’m one of those soleless (my shoes suck) whores who ‘make’ you want stuff. Lots of stuff. Mostly food, but other stuff too.

In multiple countries. I may only be a cog in the machine, but I’m still a cog, and I like to think I cog well. I cog really well.

What I can say about marketers is this: Don’t ever assume they are in control. Ever. Because in all honesty, they aren’t. If they even exist half the time.

There’s a chance that a large company like that has marketers who are more into logistics and sales than anything we’d see on Mad Men. The boys on Madison Avenue have very little idea of what they are able to do.

What I’m saying is this: While it could be some really, really good marketing on BT’s to bring out lots of products and flood the stores with brand hunters, I suspect that more so it is that they have a large amount of whiskies, no one to argue a different way of doing things, and they don’t give a shit because money is still flowing in.

So since I don’t really hold anything against them, I’m still enjoying their products. When I can find them. Which is more the case of people being people and buying too much shit, IMHO.

Thus when I finally, after years of looking for it, had the chance to try Ancient Age, I jumped at the chance.

Because I can’t buy it anyway, because of reasons. In Ontario, Canada.

Ancient Age is made with Buffalo Trace Mash Bill #2, the higher Rye Mashbill. 12-15%, if I am to trust the internet, and they’ve only maimed me a little, so I’ll keep on believing. Same as Rockhill Farms, Elmer T. Lee, Blanton’s, Hancock (which I can’t say without tittering a little bit), and… I think that’s it.

So, it’s a high Rye from a distillery I have mixed results with. Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Ancient Age 2

Price: N/A for us Ontario folk because we caused a curse to happen or whatever the reason for the existence of the LCBO actually is.

Region: Kentucky

Abv: 43%

Colour: 2.5Y 8/8

Nose: Oak, caramel, melon, lime, ginger cookies, peach

Sweet is a word I throw around a lot. So I’m going to say… sweet, because fuck your rules.

There’s a good amount of acid, oak, and ginger notes to balance it all out. Smells quite nice.

Taste: Peach drink, caramel, mint, herbal, anise, thick mouthfeel

Not peach juice. We’re talking Neon Orange pain drink .

Though it’s really thick. There’s a lot of spice here, and somehow it works with the peach drink. Reminds me of an iced tea with mint maybe.

Finish: Oak, espresso, peanut, butterscotch, carrot

Kinda embarrassing when I forgot to finish my review!

It’s sweet, earthy, and has this wonderful strong coffee flavour that I really, really enjoy.

Conclusion: Do I think Marketers may be dicks in this case? Well, yeah. Duh. They’re making money. And they may not be. Can’t really tell.

What I can tell you is that I enjoyed this dram quite a bit. It was sweet, had a good amount of earth, and had a really, really good mouthfeel. The nose wasn’t amazing, so it falls from grace a little bit, however I think I’d buy this if I could.

Oh well. Gotta try the Ancient Ancient Age now, if only for the silly name.

79/100

Bourbon review #87, Kentucky review #62, Whiskey Network review #595

One thought on “Ancient Age

Leave a Reply

