Teaninich 12 Lombard [Feather’s Flight Review Set #12]

lombardtea.jpg

It’s that time of year again. Yup, you put up garland, you set up the tree, we act better to those around us, sip on hot chocolate, and stop ourselves from slapping Grampa for quoting Donald Trump without irony.

Yes folks, you may have already guessed it: It’s time for my birthday drams at Feather’s Pub. However we happened to go there a few weeks early, and I’m behind on my reviews, so this is just a preview of the festivities that people around the world share with me, for me, because me.

Well, that’s enough ego stroking for today, let’s get onto the first dram: Teaninich 12 Lombard.

Brought out in 2006, this independent bottling was created by the Pope… no, wait, it was brought out by Lombard. Lombard has their own blended whiskies, however started out in the Indy game, like good Hipsters. Without them we wouldn’t have another Teaninich, as it’s usually used in blends and owned by Diageo, so other than the Flora & Fauna releases, we haven’t seen much from this distillery.

And that makes me want to try it. So I’m going to. Because my impulse control is null. Well… also it’s a decent price. And pretty old.

Confusing thing about this one: They released it both as a 43%s and as a 40% dram. I lucked out and got the higher Abv. Second thing: This is old, so some oxidization may have happened here.

Maybe.

Oh well, let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Price: N/A, check an auction

Region: Highland

Abv: 43%

Colour: 5Y 9/6

Nose: Salt, grapefruit, peach juice, pastry, cedar

Light nose. Really faint. Takes some time to really pull out notes. As I nose it more and wait, it has this cedar note, again, not unlike the Pope.

The last one smelled of Elderberries and his father was a Hamster.

Lots of citrus in the nose, and a little salty. So just another Friday night for me.

Taste: Cinnamon, coal, earth, ginger, basil, apple

Lots of earth on this one. Sweet too, thus the cinnamon. Kinda light. Not “Jack Daniel’s” light. But lighter than others.

Finish: Cinnamon, earth, watermelon rind, black tea

More earth! And sweet. And bitter (I’m not going to even mention his username, just let him show up). Not a good amount of bitterness, it’s a little high.

Wish there was a little more in the finish.

Conclusion: So this may have oxidized, and I’m considering that as reviewing it, by mentioning it. I’m assuming the original was a little smoother, which you can add or detract points depending if you’re into that or not.

All in all, it’s an interesting dram, though I wouldn’t hunt after it. I want to try a Teaninich at Cask Strength now, so I’ll give it credit there.

72/100

Scotch review #386, Highland review #74, Whisky Network review #591

One thought on “Teaninich 12 Lombard [Feather’s Flight Review Set #12]

Leave a Reply

