Deanston Virgin Oak

1 - iEMnn73

Thanks again to /u/kinohead for bringing this dram.

Awhile ago I was recommended Deanston Virgin Oak due to similarities it had with Lowland whiskies I love.

And boy do I love Lowland whiskies. But let’s not get off track just yet. This isn’t a Lowland. It’s a Highland. Which means it’ll get to Scotland after me. And something about my love.

Moving on…

So I was recommended this dram. By who? No idea. Someone. They said I should try it. So I am.

That’s right folks, you too could become a faceless person in one of my posts by randomly recommending a dram I’ll try, if for no other reason than I think I should.

So, what’s special about this dram? Well, it’s NAS, so it’s fitting into all the other whiskies that are coming out. So that’s not special.

It’s made from Certified Organic products. Nice. Not something that is at the top of my list. Or near my list, if I’m being honest. But nice. I assume it’s okay ingredients from that. Or at least they want me to believe.

The distillery uses Hydro Energy. Okay, that has my attention. I’m always happy to support green energy methods, assuming it is non-impact hydro energy. Still, pretty cool. Guessing they don’t use peat smoke then.

The Virgin Casks this is finished in comes from Kentucky. Kinda cool. May be annoying to bourbon fans, but interesting. I like interesting finishes.

No colour added. Also nice. But let’s get past all of this: It’s an inexpensive dram, and that’s pretty cool, so maybe I should just try it.

Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

2 - 1xX9ofc

Price: $49.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Highland

Abv: 46.3%

Colour: 5Y 9/4

Nose: Cantaloupe, peach, spirit, lemon, spruce

Citrus. In a word: Lots of it. Little raw, though I’m guessing that comes from the NAS years it was in the barrel.

See what I did there? No? Well fuck you too.

Anyway, this has a spruce element to it that sticks out. Little odd among the fruit.

Taste: Oak, caramel, butter, cashew, funk

Oaky. Cashew-y. Butter-y. Nice, yet there’s a funk to it that I can’t get rid of, and my feets keep moving to its too.

That hurt to write. On the one hand, it’s a nice, if light dram. On the other hand, the funk isn’t helping, and it’s lighter than I’d want a dram at this Abv to be.

Finish: Currant, mushroom, pepper, coconut

Earthy. None of the flavours mesh well together at all. Even the coconut and currant seem to be at odds. The pepper makes it hot, the mushroom slimy.

It’s well developed but muddled, which is too bad.

Conclusion: Okay nose, though I think it needs more time than a finish of Virgin oak to develop. The taste is good, though there’s a funk. And the finish has developed nice flavours, but they are all not complimentary.

So the basic thing is: This is better than the other Deanston I have had. I think this is an okay start to something. Needs some work, maybe some more time, or just maybe needs to grow a little more. Or maybe Virgin Oak doesn’t work with Deanston, I don’t know. I just know this one isn’t for me.

71/100

Scotch review #382, Highland review #73, Whisky Network review #587

One thought on “Deanston Virgin Oak

Leave a Reply

