Craigellachie 13

Craigellachie 13 2

Thanks to /u/kinohead for sharing this dram.

Saying there is a lot of distilleries in the Speyside region is somewhat akin to saying there’s a lot of people living in cities. It doesn’t really address the situation well at all.

The scary thing is, while it’s the largest region of whisky I’ve ever reviewed, there are still some distilleries that are popular and yet I’ve never had or even heard of. Ones that have great, hipster baiting bottles even.

Speaking of which, I’ll be reviewing Craigellachie 13 today. I was given this, like most of the drams (save the ones I showed up to the whisky gathering carrying) I had, being told that the owner doesn’t like it. Not the owner of the distillery I mean, the owner of the bottle, who I thanked above.

I don’t really know what the owner of the distillery thinks of it.

Released in the heyday of 2014, when we were not so old and bitter yet not quite kids anymore, Craigellachie 13was released after we got used to only hearing from them in Independent bottles.

It’s non-chillfiltered. And it’s known to be poured into Dewar’s blends more often than Single Malts. However given the recent surge of whisky, they’ve brought out this dram.

Sounds fun. Decent age, non standard, and has a good Abv. Let’s see how it tastes (or if I’ve fallen for their trap card).

 

Craigellachie 13 1

Price: $79.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Speyside

Abv: 46%

Colour: 5.Y 9/6

Nose: Banana, strawberry, raisin, lemon, peach

Fruity. Very Speyside. Much Scotch. Wow.

Yeah, there’s a lot of fruit to this one. Not surprising given the location. Faint, though not super faint.

Taste: Barley, salty toffee, banana, espresso, basil, dry

Hmm… opens up over time. More to this than just a fruit salad now, which is for the best.

Because I’d normally just eat fruit salad. Because it’s healthier.

But this: It has more of those caramel, cereal, and coffee notes. And I love me some coffee notes.

Finish: Banana, oak, nutty, butter, papaya

The finish is kinda sad after the stellar taste. Not sad in that “what did I just drink” way, more so sad in the “I want more” way. It’s not a bad finish, it just doesn’t live up to it’s predecessors. Like any of the Roosevelt people after the two presidents, their daughters, and one of their wives.

Bonus points if you know who I’m talking about. Even more bonus points if you just Wikipediaed it like a goddamn regular person.

Conclusion: I liked this. I’m actually excited to try the 17 year old. And all the other IBs that were mentioned.

And why? Because it’s a good, heck, great entry level malt. Does some cool things, exemplifies the terroir well, and tastes good. The nose needs more work, but I’m not too worried. And the hipster packaging is annoying, but I’m in marketing, I get that you need to do what you need to do to get people to buy things.

79/100

Scotch review #381, Speyside review #112, Whisky Network review #586

One thought on “Craigellachie 13

Leave a Reply

