Glen Garioch Vintage 1995

Glen Garoch 1995 1.jpg

Thanks to /u/muaddib99 for swapping me this sample.

Hangovers are funny things. For instance, as I type this, I’ve fought tooth and nail against one. Why? Well I wasn’t drinking whisky. I was drinking port. Because whisky angered me, due to Jim Murray’s stupid announcement. So I went to a house warming party and drank port.

Also I didn’t feel like buying a new bottle just yet of whisky.

And there was Jägermeister shots. Which I love.

However now I’m at work, half zombie, half rabbit, working through a slow headache. I’ve had a giant burger. I’ve had lots of fruit. I’ve even had quite a bit of water.

And I’m going to a whisky tasting later tonight (Nov 20th at the moment). So I’m a dumb, dumb person.

Yet I still feel like I had a great time… even though I missed my bus stop. And came home late.

/u/muaddib99 bought this bottle of Glen Garioch Vintage 1995 because he too was celebrating a new home. It just seems like the thing to do. So since I like to tie things together, let’s review it under similar situations.

I like Glen Garioch. I don’t know why, at all. They are Highland, they aren’t that crazy, but I like them. Maybe it’s the higher amount of alcohol. Maybe I grew up around lead paint. Who really knows.

I like them. And this is one of their Vintages. Launched to celebrate the height of each batch, this whisky is a landmark dram, being the last of the juice to be peated. Peated how much? I really, really don’t know. Honestly. I’m as lost as you.

So let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Glen Garoch 1995 2.jpg

Price: $119.95 (CAD)

Abv: 55.3%

Region: Highland

Distilled: 1995

Bottled: 2012

Age: 17 years

Batch #: 10

Cask: First Fill Bourbon

Colour: 5Y 8/6

Nose: Wheat, apricot, ginger, mace, white cake, graham crackers, bay leaf

Not the peated monster I was looking for, but rather an older, herbal, and autumn drink. Like the sweet aspects having that dry aspect to them.

Reminds me of Mini Wheats, but if I liked them and didn’t find them to be dry. Like artisan cereal made by hipsters in a small village that you’ve probably never heard of.

Taste: Honey, floral, pepper, anise, thyme, wood, apple, watermelon

The taste is less complex and rawer than the nose would denote. Spicy notes are a nice touch.

I wish it evolved a little bit more. Or that I was drinking it out of a Pokéball. Eventually the watermelon is really present.

Finish: Cumin, pepper, mushroom, nutmeg, arugula, raisin

Earth. The peat elements are notable here. It’s been in the cask long enough for them to be more than just smoke. Again, I feel that the nose is more complex than this would denote.

Monkey farts. Sorry, I’m still a little spacey, and felt I was getting too serious.

Conclusion: Great nose. If the nose is the thing for you, then this is a no brainer. I’m more of a “whole package” kinda person, so I’m going to score it lower than my compatriots. Good dram, and excellent use of peat. The cask quality is evident as well.

Just needs more time to develop. Or perhaps I’m not the target audience. Let’s face it, I haven’t moved yet.

82/100

Scotch review #381, Highland review #72, Whisky Network review #580

One thought on “Glen Garioch Vintage 1995

Leave a Reply

