White Oak Akashi Single Malt

White Oak Akashi Single Malt 1

Another Fine Day for a Fine Drams review. Buy now!

Another sucking up to the Fine Drams guys? Okay, I’ll get on with it.

So I recently did a lot of Japanese reviews. A bombing of reviews… if I was insensitive. Maybe a gaggle? No, that’s not Japanese… A harajuku of reviews? Perhaps a octopus of reviews? Many tentacles?

Have I alienated everyone yet? Okay.

I like Japan. I find it interesting, though not in that “it’s better than us” anime watching, umami swilling way. More so I enjoy other cultures and how they do different things. I enjoy Sweden and India too, but today’s about Japan, so fuck those places. Gently.

With care.

Anyway, I’m mostly babbling because I didn’t find too much about White Oak Akashi Single Malt. This NAS is produced by White Oak, from the Akashi range. And that’s all I could find. Oh! And it’s a single malt! So I’ve covered EVERYTHING written in the name!

Wait! I found a sketchy website!

It’s made in a mild climate… okay, not helping. The malt is from England.. And it’s made with water. Oh! Jackpot! They use Spanish Oak Sherry, American Oak sherry, and bourbon barrels.

That’s pretty impressive. Or wrong. The website was sketchy.

Alright, don’t want to overload you guys with much more. I mean, no one really wants to hear more about what’s going in our mouths.

Let’s see how it tastes.

White Oak Akashi Single Malt 2

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Japan

Abv: 46%

Colour: 10YR 7/8

Nose: Plum, sour wheat, butter, sour cream, ginger, pepper, honey, smoke

Very sour. Super sour. Buttery and sour. Lots of different notes, but sour is the main. Lots of sherry influence… or sour milk. Maybe more so sour milk.

Not bad. Kinda harsh in it’s own special way, like a little person with tourettes and a penchant for beating his wives. You don’t like him. Nor respect him. However he’s good at playing Rummy, so you keep him around… Just not around anyone you like.

Taste: Butter, corn, cereal, sweet milk, grilled lemon, raw alcohol

More butter… check.. My diet’s going fine, thank you.

I like the grilled lemon. Nice burnt parts to it.

And then there’s this raw alcohol part that isn’t so nice. Needs more time in the casks.

Finish: Burnt cake, candy, basil, floral, wheat

More burning. And much like other things that aren’t bonfires or effigies, that’s not a good thing. The rest would be passable without that.

Conclusion: So I think they have a good start here, and need to wait for more. The good Japanese whiskies are ones that are taken out at the right time. Or mixed in highballs, barring that.

This… not so much for me. It started out okay, and seems to be a case of pushing something out the door a little too quick. Oh well. I hear the Blend is controversial and fun to drink, so maybe I’ll try that next… in a few months.

64/100

World Whisky review #111, Japan review #22, Whisky Network review #561

One thought on “White Oak Akashi Single Malt

Leave a Reply

