Bunnahabhain Toiteach

Bunnahabhain Toiteach 1

Thanks to /u/TequilaJunction for this one.

So… deja vu? Haven’t I already reviewed this? I made some crass jokes, something about different places making different things. I think I mentioned my dick.

I didn’t? That’s odd.

Oh, and stuff about Gaelic being the second hardest part of the name to say. Yeah, that sounds familiar. Did I not post that yesterday?

Oh, they did it twice? Fucking hell, that is not helping my brain.

So.. Bunnahabhain Toiteach, which means Smokey (not that first part)… seriously, am I being punked here?

Cause Ashton Kutcher must have run out of interesting people if I’m up on the block. Is that even still a thing? Fuck, I have to get new references. Is someone going to yell “It’s just a prank” and pistol whip me.

There we go, I feel young and with it again.

So this has a sherry influence. It’s heavily peated with a Sherry influence. And NAS with the full meaning of that, as I couldn’t find how old this was.

So let’s just see how it tastes, shall we?

Bunnahabhain Toiteach 2

Price: N/A at the LCBO at the moment

Region: Islay

Abv: 46%

Colour: 5Y 8/4

Nose: Sour raspberry, plum, funk, sour cream, cherry, smoke, lemon

The sherry element is pretty evident here. Reminds me of a sour cream icing I recently made.

What? I can’t bake? The dick jokes and the off colour humour as well as being Canadian, I can’t bake?

Anyway… it’s sour. And cherry. And there’s a smokey element. Good times.

Taste: Cherry, smoke, earth, pear, anise, dry, caramel

Big cherry note on this one. Keeps some of the bunna flavour profile with being dry, earthy, and pear.

This one is somewhat more complex than the last (the Ceobanach). I think the sherry influence adds to it well. And it maybe has more peat.

Finish: Cocoa, marshmallow, mint, butter, tarragon, persimmon

It finishes like an odd hot chocolate at the end. One of those ones that they bring out for about 2 months and then get rid of all of a sudden.

I like it. The herbal element is a little weird though.

Conclusion: This is a good dram. It takes a not so normally peated malt, adds to it, all while giving you the peat and sherry elements that it promises.

There’s some off parts; the tarragon at the end, the overt sour notes on the nose, and maybe, just maybe, a lack of smoke for something that is suppose to be “heavily peated”, because… well, the rest of the distilleries on Islay still exist.

All in all, worth a bottle, if you can find one.

83/100

Scotch review #367, Islay review #78, Whiskey Network review #560

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #256

One thought on “Bunnahabhain Toiteach

Leave a Reply

