Glenmorangie Cluster Fuck Reviews [Companta, 18, Signet, Quinta Ruban, Lasanta, Astar]

Thanks to /u/devoz, /u/lasidar, /u/scotch_fanatic, and /u/allumina for samples. And me for buying others.

Me is pretty great. Can’t name things though.

So based on some of my last multi-reviews, I can’t call this a vertical. It’s vertical-ish, but not really a vertical. Also isn’t a horizontal either.

Diagnonal sounds dumb. No, this is a Cluster Fuck (patent pending) of reviews.

What’s a Cluster Fuck? Well that’s when a disorganized group of people have sexual relations with one another in a chaotic fashion. So without proper organization or a project manager.

So remember: Always bring a Project Manager to your orgies.

Glad we all learned something. And that’s about all for today.

Wait.

I was doing something, wasn’t I?

Oh, yeah, Scotch reviews. Sometimes I get ahead of myself (see Cluster Fuck above).

Glenmorangie brings out a lot of different whiskies, finished, no finished, in odd casks, and what not. The company’s first records are from a farm in 1703. Now they have 6% of the single malt whisky stock.

That’s a lot. Let’s see how these 6 disorganized whiskies (disorganized in that they don’t follow a pattern to be together, not in how they are made) measure up.

Region: Highland


01 - OSdHgSz

I showed up to school the year after our Drama club started off. In some ways, I was able to be there for it’s second Golden Age, seeing two major festivals hosted, multiple awards (of which I won some), and great times had by all.

Before I showed up, they had fought tooth and nail, emptying out pockets of change and collecting any money to have simple sets, all while seeing massive musicals win ahead of them.

Years after I left, the drama club swelled, and my old High School became an Art School. Yet there weren’t any awards, festivals, or anything of the like.

What does this have to do with whisky? Well, in 2014, Glenmorangie brought out the Ealanta, an amazing whisky that later was named whisky of the year.

The next year they brought out Glenmorangie Companta. Finished in 60% Burgundy wine casks from Clos de Tart and 40% Rhône Valley casks that previously held Rasteau, this could be amazing, yet it’s in the shadow of Ealanta, which I loved (like many others).

Yet just because we may have missed the first great age doesn’t mean this one will be bad. It could be bad, of course, regardless of how good or bad the previous year was.

So let’s see how this tastes, independent of the past.

Price: N/A in Ontario

Abv: 46%

Nose: Strawberry jam, peach, caramel, ginger, allspice, orange

Reminds me of a marmalade/jam mixture, yet there’s these great spices that are so prolific this time of year.

And yes, my Uggs look great with my Yoga pants, thank you very much.

Taste: Pepper, cherry, ginger, lemon, cherry, pepper, candied yam

Bit hot at first, yet it works with the cherry, and… I wrote cherry twice, didn’t I? Well there’s a lot of cherry.

It’s not like a sherry bomb. Close, however it’s lighter and the earth is more developed.

Finish: Orange, cocoa, lime, gingersnaps, oak, sulfur

Very poor finish overall, sadly. Where as the taste and nose had interesting, if simple portions, the finish is brief and this sulphuric element seems to pull it down, like crabs in a bucket, or lacking a great writer.

If I may drop my humble-brag.

Conclusion: So this has an interesting, nice autumn nose, followed by a unique, well balanced taste, and then a let down of a finish.

Which is too bad, really. I’m not going to give this too low of marks. Yeah, the finish isn’t great. It’s not bad either. I think it could have been better at 48%.

As for comparing it to the Ealanta? Not really fair, but it’s going to happen. I’d say that maybe next time they should avoid releasing a NAS whisky, regardless of finish, a year after releasing a 19 year whisky.

81/100


02 - hnSWqT4

Blocking out part of understanding is an important step in admitting you’re full of shit.

Oh, I don’t know you well; however I do know that we, all of us, are full of shit at some point.

So after reviewing Glenmorangie 18 as part of a mystery dram many years ago, I swapped for another sample.

Why? Because I’m a godamn masochist.

Also I wanted to try it again. I was older, more set in my ways, and with less hair on my head. I should be able to try it.

Granted I didn’t know that it was aged for 15 years in ex-bourbon casks and 3 years in ex-oloroso casks. That didn’t matter.

I had to try it again. For my own sake.

So, let’s see how this dram tasted when I knew what it was, shall we?

03 - N6kmCP7

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Abv: 43%

Colour: 10YR 6/8

Nose: Mango, lemon, caramel, ginger, vanilla, earth, moss

Very odd mixture here. Part of it is really sweet, with lots of vanilla and caramels. The other part is very earthy.

Very sweet nose. Not surprising from Glenmorangie, which I find sweet by itself.

Taste: Burn/chili, butterscotch, lemon, cashew, floral, clay, oily

The initial burn is pretty rough. Rough like driving down a winter road in skivvies on a motorbike in Maine.

That’s pretty rough. But great views, at least.

Once the burn subsides, there’s a lot of floral and earth/oily elements. Takes some getting used to, and as someone who isn’t the biggest fan of too much earth, it’s kinda rough still.

Finish: Gravel, orange, floral, chilis, ginger, basil

Gravel is not something I like to drink. Let’s be clear there. I used to make cement, and I know the taste of dirt though, and this is gravel like.

The other flavours are nice and blend well. Yet the gravel remains, haunting me.

Conclusion: I think I complain a little too much about this dram. Let’s take a step back.

It’s interesting, has some different flavours, develops well, and isn’t as overly sweet as it could be.

That said, there’s too much burn and too much earth. Plain and simple, some aspects just don’t work, so while I rate it well enough, I’d say there’s better drams for your dollar.

79/100

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die re-review


04 - HnBLBPr

This is my Ferrari. I love driving around in it.

But what I’m really proud of? All these whisky reviews. They made me sharp. Who I am.

And that’s what I’d say if I too was a douche canoe.

Unfortunately I don’t have the money of said female cleaning agent water transportation tool. Otherwise I could have purchased a bottle of Glenmorangie Signet.

Perhaps that’s for the best though. I’d have given into buying this Scotch made with more chocolate malt than normal, that some of it was aged in virgin oak, and I’d assume that was amazing.

Wait… I am sounding like a different vaginal boat now…

Okay, so if I had the money, maybe I’d give into this expensive NAS whisky. Maybe I wouldn’t. That doesn’t really matter.

What matters is how it tastes. And we should see how it tastes, shall we?

05 - TDXxvzj

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Abv: 46%

Colour: 5YR 3/8

Nose: Currant, pear, rhubarb tarts, rubber, allspice, plums, peat moss

A lot of red fruits in this. And rubber. Which is kinda odd.

Wait, is my Ferrari on fire?

Oh well, it was made of rubber.

Anyway, there’s a lot of dark fruits that change as time goes on. The earth of the peat moss is well placed here too.

Taste: Papaya, mint, ginger, apple, strawberry, cocoa

If I was a betting man, I’d say this had sherry influence. And that’s why I don’t bet.

Granted my Ferrari’s on fire, so you may want to disregard that.

It’s all a little bit jumbled. Kinda like a test for a dessert that didn’t quite work.

Finish: Smoke, mushroom, ginger, pepper, rubber

Smoke is nice, yet it turns to rubber, and I’d make the car joke again, but no one believes that a guy who likes whisky this much has money for an expensive car he can only drive 6 months of the year.

It’s simple at the end. I don’t hate it, but I wanted something more.

Conclusion: Good, if not too complex nose, jumbled taste, and a finish that smells like a rubber fire.

I said a RUBBER FIRE!

I was hoping for something interesting, and I got that. Is interesting always good? Not really. I think they can do better.

77/100

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #246


06 - rN7UD0Q

Reviewing what you wrote before is interesting. Maybe you made too many dick jokes. Or maybe you accused everyone of being full of shit.

Or maybe something could have been better.

When I first reviewed Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban, I was very happy. Why? Because I wasn’t in a local shooting that just happened a few blocks away from me.

That’s a big deal here in Canada, trust me.

Also I was on one of my wedding anniversaries. I had amazing Chinese food (which is rare to find), I was going to get lucky in a different bed, and I wasn’t being shot at.

Let me be clear: I like NOT being shot at.

So perhaps I was hasty in trying this port finished whisky. And given this night there isn’t a shooting, and I’m just relaxing, let’s see how I really feel about this dram.

07 - rHUwNvL

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Abv: 46%

Colour: 2.5R 3/8

Nose: Plum, cocoa, floral, peach, grapefruit, light caramel

There’s this deep, floral and plum filled caramel dram. It’s really deep, and tasty.

Like that one girl you could never hit the end of. Or the start (deep, I know).

Taste: Plum, caramel, ginger, butter, cereal, cinnamon, birch

So.. yeah, I’m one of the bitter brothers, let’s get that out of the way.

And I like this dram. A lot. It’s dark fruit, deep flavour, and nice cereal meld really nicely.

However… there’s this birch sap flavour

Finish: Cinnamon, alcohol, chocolate, floral, nectarine, honey

Bit harsh on the end. Don’t get me wrong; I like the other notes. Chocolate? I’m fat, of course. Honey? I’m the grandson of a beekeeper, I grew up on it. But raw alcohol? Not helping.

Doesn’t really clear either. Too bad. Maybe it needed more time in the pipes?

Conclusion: Alright, I’ve come to two conclusions: I rated this too low the first time, and I thought of it too highly this whole time.

How does that work? Well you review over 500 whiskies and remember everything just right. Jerk.

So, it is quite good. They’ve pulled together an amazing nose and a great taste in 12 short years. That’s pretty amazing.

And the finish is almost there. There’s issues, sure, but I’d still go for this rather than other Glenmorangie’s, and on an even more positive note, I think Glenmorangie has balanced port flavours really well in comparison to other drams I’ve had.

82/100

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die re-review

101 Whiskies to try before you die re-review 


08 - yztQeYR

/u/zillah1985 has his search for Pappy 23. I… didn’t.

Don’t get me wrong; I want to try it at some point. And I loved his post. However it’s not the toy I was looking for.

You see, most kids enjoy getting that one toy, and put it away. And those kids are healthy, live great lives, and enjoy themselves. They move on.

I didn’t. I needed to collect things. Have full sets. I was like a mule with a complete kitchen set. No idea what to do with it yet proud to have it.

I played a lot of Magic: The Gathering. Trading was my favourite part.

Then I moved onto whisky. Started with some of the easy stuff. You know, like trying the simple ones, like those from Glenmorangie. Not simple in complexity; more so just out there. You could find the Original and the three finished ones anywhere.

Except I couldn’t find Glenmorangie Lasanta. And that’s… frustrating to me. I’m not OCD; that infers I can’t leave my house. Obsessed? Nope, haven’t skinned someone’s face and worn it on my crouch while calling out to Freya to bless the crops.

No, I’m driven. I can’t really drop things I collect. And it typically works. In this case it took a few years, and here we are. I can now try this dram, which has been finished in both oloroso and PX sherry casks for 2 years.

Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

09 - 9ZJNjZD

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Abv: 46%

Colour: 2.5YR 4/8

Nose: Raspberry, mango, banana, coffee, cassia buds, juniper, watermelon

Big fruit tastes, and something that I haven’t smelled in awhile. Like a Mox Diamond.

Well, I haven’t smelled that because I stopped playing Magic, it doesn’t smell, and I lost 3 of them, sadly.

No, more of the coffee and banana notes. Really tasty. And it pairs well with an almost gin smell. Love the nose on this.

Taste: Coffee, rhubarb, strawberry, anise, oily, banana

Holy shit I miss coffee. I didn’t collect coffee (that’s a segue). No, I just enjoyed it when it was well made. And now I can’t have it.

That said, while I liked tasting it again without that burnt shit taste from decaf, the coffee doesn’t really fit here. It’s not balancing it out like it should, and it’s showing up like a Yugi-oh player to a Magic tournament.

Finish: Earth, coffee, chilis, rosemary, green melon

And here it comes again. The earth at the end, the unbalanced notes feel like a shitty rare in a pack of decent uncommons.

Or rather: I wish it met the nose.

Conclusion: I’m happy to have had this. And I’d even consider drinking it again. Is it amazing? No. However it’s tasty. The finish ends not so great, which sucks, but that’s not something to worry about.

I finished part of my collection. And that makes me feel happy. I like coffee too, so I’m adding some bonus points. Because I’m mad with power.

81/100

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #247


10 - Ysa73MC

I have something to admit: I have trouble in the Southern US.

Why? Well I was brought up in Canada, where we’re taught the South is really racist and poor and live in warm places.

I’ve since met a lot of great people from the South. That said, it’s hard to move away from that believe brought on by popular culture.

So when I hear about Artisan Casks from the Ozarks of Missouri, I have to say I’m not 100% sold. I’m barely 50% sold.

And that’s really stupid. Because the wood isn’t affected by the past. And the USA has some pretty cool wood producing, and warm weather gives us cool wood.

Enter Glenmorangie Astar, the second in Glenmorangie’s series of Artisan cask series. Aged in wood made from wood from the Ozark mountains.

What does that mean though? Well first off I’m a jingoist and I need to work on that.

Also it means that this is… ex-bourbon casks? Or maybe virgin casks? I don’t really know. Is it American oak? A variant of it?

Who knows. What I do know is it’s cask strength. And interesting. So I’ll put aside my pathetic fallacies that I know are false, and see how it tastes.

11 - HgVjEl9

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Abv: 57.1%

Colour: 2.5Y 8/6

Nose: Lemon, grapefruit, honey, ginger, butter, cashew, caramel muffin, chocolate rum sauce

This.. this is really, really complex. Super complex. If I smelled this while walking into a bakery, I’d buy too much and gain more weight.

Taste: Sugar cookies, lemon curd, peanut oil, pepper, herbal, pineapple

I recently tried Tim Horton’s filled cookies. The ones I thought I’d like? Hated. The one I wasn’t sure about? A lemon sugar cookie filled with raspberry goo. Tasty, tasty good.

This reminds me of that cookie, that I loved so much.

Finish: Ginger, peanut brittle, Sprite, oak, moss, anise, cereal, vanilla, pine, cardamon

Holy shit, a finish that doesn’t let me down!

Seriously though, this is more of the same, yet there’s a pine note that I assume is from virgin oak. I don’t love it, but that’s a minor point.

Conclusion: This is a really well done dram. I’ve had a few Glenmorangie’s at cask strength, and this did not disappoint. At all. This is really, really tasty. It has unique notes throughout.

Basically I didn’t rate this higher because it didn’t end up giving me distinct memories. And 1 point off for the harsh pine. However I’d think twice before judging the South again OR Artisan casks, as this was worth it.

84/100

Scotch reviews #360-365, Highland reviews #65-70, Whisky Network reviews #550-555

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #248

One thought on “Glenmorangie Cluster Fuck Reviews [Companta, 18, Signet, Quinta Ruban, Lasanta, Astar]

Leave a Reply

