Talisker Storm

Talisker Storm 1

Finally getting to some Fine Drams supplies. Support your not so local supplier kids.

Storms are a big deal. I don’t care if you’re 1 or 21… well, maybe I do, because if you’re 1, and you’re reading this, then that’s both an odd choice because you can’t drink yet and also you’re reading…

Anyway, moving on…

Storms are huge, no matter who you are. I remember being a kid and watching a small sapling pine tree be struck by lightning, right in front of me. I remember pieces of a Hurricane flying through Montreal suburbs, dumping rain for 1 minute and then leaving sunshine in it’s wake.

A tropical storm once engulfed our rental home in Florida, leaving us to explore it. An Ice Storm shook the world to it’s knees and froze it in place for 2 weeks, leading us to friend’s homes to make merry in what little power they had to share.

A sudden hurricane spun up out of a storm while I was on a 100+ year old boat. I’d be dead if I was the one running it. Luckily a smarter and better captain was in charge, and I was just a waiter.

Talisker Storm is a NAS whisky that promises to be “more smokey and intense” than Talisker’s other offerings. It’s named after storms, which is a tall order.

We’ve all seen storms. Universal fear and respect is something that all humans have for storms. So they are ponying up quite a bit for me to try this. Will it be as big as lightning, rain, thunder, wind, ice, and snow?

Or will this be the slight downy snow that shuts down cities that aren’t ready for it?

Let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

TS 2

Price: $90.00 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Island

Abv: 45.8%

Colour: 7.5YR 6/8

Nose: Peat, brine, cream, lemon, pear, nuts

There’s a good amount of peat and brine in this. Reminds me of the 10, however with some more peat and brine. What I’m saying is it’s unbalanced in the wind department.

Nice to nose though.

Taste: Pepper, smoke, cream, cocoa, lemon

Simple flavours. The earth notes are sweeter than I remember. There’s a nice amount of smoke.

Simeple though. Like “Just some snow” simple. So I guess this is like cleaning off the driveway for Scotches.

Finish: Pepper, bacon, brine, butterscotch, metal

More smoke, more brine, yet evolved a little bit to have this bacony flavour that I usually only have when we buy the pricey bacon by mistake, and only fry up if the weather is so rough that no one is going anywhere.

There’s a little bit of metallic taste. While it makes sense (what’s more metal than Storms?), I have to say I’m not the biggest fan here. Sticks out too much.

Conclusion: Good, no great. Worth buying over the 10? Not really. I really get the feeling that they released a younger batch that is still unbalanced and said it was “more intense” to try and turn it around.

There’s better Taliskers. It’s not bad; heck, I’d keep it around to sip on if it was cheaper. It’s just not great.

This storm has been downgraded to a sad rain cloud, unfortunately.

78/100

Scotch review #358, Island review #33, Whisky Network Review #545

2 thoughts on “Talisker Storm

Leave a Reply

