Bladnoch 10 Flora & Fauna [Feather’s Flight Review Set #11]

Bladnoch 10 Flora & Fauna 1

In a completely expected turn, I went to Feather’s Pub. It was my buddy’s birthday present time of year, so I jumped on that bandwagon quicker than a politician.

What, you expected me to expound on that? Have you ever seen politics?

Anyway, My wife bought our friend a flight filled with whiskies I’ve already had, so I was on my own. Through the darkness. Kicking ass and taking names.

Not really. I just had to pay for myself. And drink and review. And maybe fight, if Dropkick Murphy’s are to be believed.

Up first, as usual, was a Lowland whisky, and this one was Bladnoch 10 Flora & Fauna. Bladnoch is one of the few Lowland distilleries I’ve never had.

Bladnoch created their first malt since 2000 in 2009, with a different one. This one is part of the Flora & Fauna collection, a group of malts made by Diageo before they were Diageo, all from lesser known distilleries.

Kinda like when comics have major crossover events, they hoped people would buy all 26 malts, or at least try some of them to get the word out about less popular distilleries. Which at the time included Benrinnes and Caol Ila.

So, let’s see if I should be buying more Bladnoch or not.

Price: N/A

Region: Lowland

Abv: 43%

Colour: 7.5YR 5/8

Nose: Lemon, anise, peach, floral, melon, pine, butter

Very lemony. It’s very much a Lowland whisky, with floral and fruit elements.

There’s a buttery note that hangs on at the end, however there’s also this pine-y, too young malt element that I’m not enjoying too much.

That’s not that I don’t like pine. Wait, did I just say that because I think pine fans will get angry? Damn political correctness.

Taste: Caramel, musk, floral/earth, nutmeg, ginger, lemon

Richer than other Lowlands. More caramel/butter notes, a little more spice.

Not that I’m saying other Lowlands aren’t rich. Don’t want to offend them any. I’m just finding more caramel on this one than normal.

Finish: Butter, mushroom, cinnamon, oregano, orange, grass

Finishes like a mushroom/beef sushi roll with more spice and acid.

Kinda schizophrenic, if I’m being honest.

What? Were you expecting another apology?

Conclusion: It’s a light dram all in all. Not strong flavours, other than the caramel/butter. The notes don’t exactly mesh all together.

It’s almost what I’d assume a flavoured Lowland would taste like if it had only a little bit of flavouring.

What I’m saying is this: I’m interested in Bladnoch, however I wouldn’t recommend Bladnoch 10 Flora & Fauna, as it’s kinda meh.

71/100

Scotch review #354, Lowland review #25, Whisky Network Review #541

Bladnoch 10 Flora & Fauna 2

One thought on “Bladnoch 10 Flora & Fauna [Feather’s Flight Review Set #11]

Leave a Reply

