Longrow Red 11 Cabernet-Sauvignon

Longrow Red 11 Cabernet-Sauvignon 1

Thanks to /u/PeatReek for this sample.

Longrow Red 11 Cabernet-Sauvignon sounds like an odd mash up. Something that Girl Talk or White Panda thought up.

I mean, Longrow is the heavily peated Scotch from Springbank, sided by Springbank (dur) and Hazelburn. And since I’ve reviewed one of the Reds before, I should try another (more on that later).

Mix that with finishing it for a nice 4 years in Cabernet-Sauvignon wine casks. It makes sense though. A full-bodied, very tannic wine with a ton of peat. I guess. Maybe.

Maybe?

What I’m saying is a strong wine finish with strong peat makes sense, as they can compete with one another. Which, by the way, is usually what you want to look for in a bum fight over a piece of cheese.

Don’t want stinky Phil being taken out in the first round by roid-rage Ronnie.

Where was I… Okay, so I’ve reviewed another Longrow Red before, so I’ll compare to that (wait for it).

Longrow Red 11 Cabernet-Sauvignon 2

Price: N/A

Region: Campbeltown

Abv: 53.7%

Colour: 10YR 6/8

Nose: Smoked tangerine, butter, gasoline, pear, moss

Hmm, reminds me of that last Longrow Red I reviewed. I better look it up to compare…

Wait…

What the…

Oh shit.

So I’ve, in fact, forgotten to review the Longrow Red I own. I’m a smart person.

This has a big smoked tangerine scent. Reminds me of a Smoked Tangerine mixed drink I had a long time ago. No memories, just smells exactly like it.

Taste: Peach, smoke, anise, basil, walnut oil, strawberry

Good balance of fruit, peat, and spice. That said the walnut oil is a little off putting, and somewhat sticks out.

Granted I’m allergic to walnuts, so… YMMV.

Finish: Anise, currant, smoke, sweet Thai basil, balsamic vinegar, brown sugar

I think YMMV means Your Monkey May Vacate. At least that’s what I meant.

Oh, the finish? It’s oddly earthy. Rich notes of red berries, and a lot of earth. I’m not the biggest earth fan, however the sweetness here is almost to a point where I like it

Conclusion: How do I compare this to something I’ve never had? Well, let me tell you, I stick my head so far up my own ass and then review the next one tomorrow, that’s what I do.

Honestly, I like this one. It’s a little oddball. Has some unique points. They don’t all work, however it’s a change of pace, has some nice peat, and otherwise tastes quite nice. Buy it if you see it.

83/100

Scotch review #348, Campbeltown #17, Whisky Network review #532

One thought on “Longrow Red 11 Cabernet-Sauvignon

Leave a Reply

