Bastille 1789

Bastille 1789 1

So yes… this has some question marks on it, and was supposed to be a mystery sample from /u/Devoz.

However he told me what it was when he thought I had already reviewed it for a whisky tasting I ran. When I told him I hadn’t, he told me it was Bastille 1789, a French blended whisky that will brag about clarity of water through limestone and high quality grain and barley from the North of France, as well as being finished in Limousin casks.

I’m not going to lie: I’ve had this before. I was unimpressed. Now /u/Devoz may be playing me for the fool; he may have given me a red herring by saying it is Bastille 1789 and then it isn’t.

Or I may just be paranoid, as usual. Being paranoid has gotten me this far; it may save me so far.

So while tasting this I accepted, before I poured it, that this may be a ruse. A trick. And it was just another whisky, at a percentage, that was to be posted in /r/worldwhisky.

Oh well. If I’m about to set off /u/Devoz‘s trap card, it’s just the way it’s going to be. Let’s see how this tastes.

Bastille 1789 2

Price: $55.00 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: France

Abv: 40%

Colour: 2.5Y 8/8

Nose: Stale pear, wheat, banana, carrot, nail polish remover

Alright. I don’t think it’s trap. This smells about as rough as I remember.

It’s fruity, but in that “fruit burrito from a gas station” way. Kinda rough to nose, to be honest.

Taste: Lots of carrot, pear, cumin, gummies, oak, pepper

Like carrot juice? But need to get drunk? Well I have the dram for you!

It’s very sweet, there’s notes of the casks in there, and very little else. Kinda earthy sweet too, so not really my thing.

On the upside, beyond being one dimensional and kinda boringly sweet, there’s no painful parts… so that’s something, I guess.

Finish: Earth, wine gums, alcohol, ginger, lemon

Yay, more alcohol notes! And an assortment of sweet/earthy notes! Just what no one ever wanted!

Conclusion: So this tastes the same as I remember Bastille 1789, so I’m going to drop the joke about /u/Devoz giving me a different sample.

I’ll start by saying this isn’t as horrible as it could have been. there was at least something to it, and the taste didn’t have any bad parts. Otherwise this is so skippable that you should be skipping all the time and throwing flat rocks at ponds just to ensure you skip it.

It’s too expensive, not really that great, and has a nose that will make plants wilt. Try other French malts; they are better.

53/100

World Whisky review #107, France #5, Whisky Network review #530

One thought on “Bastille 1789

Leave a Reply

