Glenfiddich 14 Rich Oak Reserve

Glenfiddich 14 Rich Oak Reserve 1

Thanks to /u/slackerdude for this sample.

Glenfiddich and I have an odd past. Not “They killed my grandfather” past or “I was hunted down by illegal aliens who only drank it”, more so I’m all over the place on how I review it. And thus how I react to it.

Glenfiddich 12 and I are homies, in that I’ll suck on it and be okay with it. That’s what homies means, right?

Glenfiddich 15 tastes like that one stripper who wears all red. And you don’t really want to feel that way. Ever.

Glenfiddich 18 was there are my wedding. Had to be a witness, I like it so much.

And the 21 Gran Reserve? That’s crazy good. To me, at least.

So you see, I have a mixed bag with this whisky. Not to mention when I started I thought it was a blend. And that’s just wrong.

Also they bring out a lot of… odd selections that are typically at 40%.

What a segue, eh?

Glenfiddich 14 Rich Oak Reserve is one of their releases. Going in, I know I’m biased against 15 year whiskies. Just the way I am. I try not to be, and I always say that this ones going to be different (like Lagavulin 16), however… I just don’t know.

So the story is that they age it in American oak for 14 years, then finish it in Virgin American and Spanish oak. Given the age isn’t that old, and this is the same company that did only a few months with rum casks, I assume it was less than a year in these virgin casks.

So let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Glenfiddich 14 Rich Oak Reserve 2

Price: $65.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Speyside

Abv: 40%

Colour: 10YR 6/6

Nose: Pear, peach, oak, mango, pecan, butter, ginger

Reminds me a little of the 12; Has some oak, butter, and a bit of pear. Very light though. Took me some time with it to pick out the flavours.

Maybe I have a new homie?

Taste: Peach drink, oak, cinnamon, apple, anise, lemon

Not Peach Juice. That’s a highly expensive drink to have at times when you want it. Or peach nectar. That’s also expensive.

I mean high colour insanity juice that’s mostly sugar and probably some chemical recreated from a plant to taste like peach. And that’s not fun.

The virgin oak has added quite a bit of oak onto this as well. The apple/spice flavours is a little too light.

Not a homie.

Finish: Oak, caramel, peach, lots of nutmeg, alcohol

Ever chug nutmeg? Now you don’t have to! And now with raw alcohol taste, just for you!

I’m not a fan of the finish.

Conclusion: Another stripper-gram whisky. Oh well.

I didn’t hate the taste as much as I say, it’s just somewhat cheap tasting. The nose was nice, if faint, and the finish? Not worth it.

I don’t get these companies, personally. This is the first time a Scotch has been finished in these types of Oak. They make a big deal out of that alone, and then…. lower it to 40%? Why? What’s the point? It just reduced the potentially nice parts and left us with a poor finish.

Skip.

72/100

Scotch review #347, Speyside review #103, Whisky Network review #521

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #238

One thought on “Glenfiddich 14 Rich Oak Reserve

Leave a Reply

