Talisker 18

Talisker 18 1

This is the first in a three part series I’m calling “Talisker: Barely Know her!”

Yes, that should alienate some of my fans nicely.

So, up first we have Talisker 18. Winner of the 2007 World Whisky award for Best Whisky in the World, I’ve always wondered about this Diageo sponsored whisky. It’s suppose to be “well received just about everyone”. Well that’s a tall order to fill.

None the less, I haven’t tried it myself. And I always say that I need to try something, not just assume that it’s been well bribed into books and awards. And everyone should do that.

I mean, what am I complaining about? I typically (always? sometimes? I don’t know) say that peat gets better with time. The peat bombs (Talisker amongst them) mellow out, giving us a BBQ chocolate happy taste.

So what’s wrong with Talisker 18? Nothing at the onset. It’s not lower than 45%, it’s older, it’s easier to find, the price isn’ttoo bad, and it’ll be peated.

I should enjoy this. So let’s see if I do.

Talisker 18 2

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Island

Abv: 45/8%

Colour: 5Y 7/8

Nose: Pepper, smoke, cocoa, raspberry, grassy, jalapeno, BBQ sauce, grapefruit, brine, licorice

Big peat nose with all the notes I love. It’s briney, fruity, grassy, and BBQ-y. I do like BBQ. My pants not so much.

It’s all over the place in the right way. I’m enjoying this.

Taste: Brine, dill, cocoa, strawberry, smoke, dull artificial vanilla flavouring, arugula

Holy damn am I drinking pickle juice!?!

Once the pickle juice subsides and I get a hold of myself, I notice that this has a very… lax flavour. Sure it’s brine-y to start, however after awhile it just tastes like I’ve run out of the good vanilla extract.

And you don’t want to see fat /u/TOModera when he can’t bake with his nice vanilla extract.

Finish: Ginger, pepper, salt, smoke, cocoa, grapefruit

Meh finish. Not fake tasting like the taste, more so something I’d expect from a younger malt, or at least a less expensive malt.

I’m not impressed is what I’m saying.

Conclusion: I’d rather have the 10 year. This should be a mature malt I love, and instead it’s just kinda okay. I mean, it’s better than the 57 North, sure, but it’s not really doing much.

I’d say skip this one, unless you really love Talisker. It’s not bad (and the nose is bonkers good), I just can’t recommend it.

80/100

Scotch review #339, Island review #29, Whisky Network review #506

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #231

101 Whiskies to try before you die review #57

One thought on “Talisker 18

Leave a Reply

