Dallas Dhu 20 Signatory Vintage 1974

Dallas Dhu 20 Signatory Vintage 1974

So… this is my 500th whisky review.

That includes World Whisky, Bourbon/American Whiskey, and Scotch. And I’ve just hit 500.

Damn I’m old.

Well, not old. Possibly inebriated. Might have overdone it.

I mean… let’s look back. I’m the schmuck who started with a review of a Indian Blended Whisky, Desert Queen. On /r/scotch (before /r/worldwhisky was alive and well). No jokes, no explanation, just tasting notes and (what I thought) was a fair 72 for a decent sipping whisky.

Then I couldn’t be stopped. I actually paid Ontario prices for Springbank 10 to be a part of the community review. Then I started going through all the half-thought purchases of whisky I had, picking different ones.

And why did I start? Oh, because someone was nice enough to have a contest in which they sent out samples of Balvenie 30. Yes, you fucking read that right: A complete stranger sent me a double shot of something that would cost me $1,000 to buy here in Canada (it’s like $5 in the US, right? I assume that’s how the prices go).

Yeah, /u/ez4me2c3d sent me a sample of Balvenie 30. And because of that, I said “Well, if I’m going to be a good person and not just drink this, I better become better at reviews before I have it”.

Since then I’ve annoyed Tobermory 10 fans (it’s still shitty), ran a successful whisky dinner (and have another coming up in two months), been a part of a reddit meetup, visited the UK twice and done 100+ reviews there, made over 30 swaps, annoyed the general public with my 100th Scotch review (and then made up for it with my 200th review), reviewed all beginner and next level malts, received a whisky book from a reddit secret Santa, and drank pre-closure Ardbeg not once, but four times.

Honestly, where to next? The next 500 will be interesting. I’m not slowing down unless I shit out my liver, thank you very much.

So… what was I doing again? Oh yeah, I was doing a whisky review.

I bought the Dallas Dhu 20 Signatory Vintage 1974 from a co-worker who was amazing enough to sell it to me. And I wish I could tell you more about it.

Seriously, I can’t find shit. I’ve been out there, on the internet, with a fucking comb, all damn day and I. Can’t. Find. Shit.

Here’s what I do know:

  1. It’s older than me, but not. See it goes from 1974 to 1994. So when I was still trying to dodge my French Prostitute stereotype Grade 4 teacher from giving us kisses on the last day of school, this was coming out of the barrel and into it’s own little home/bottle enclosure.
  2. Dallas Dhu was built in the 19th century, and was the last one built in that century. Fancy
  3. The distillery was closed down 1 year after I was born (1983)
  4. It was aged in sherry casks. What kind? No idea.

If you know anything about this whisky, speak up. Call me out. I should be better than this at 500. Really, it’s a shame.

Oh well. Let’s see how this tastes, shall we?

Price: N/A… anywhere, from what I’ve found

Cask Nos.: 1500+1502

Bottle No.:265 of 860

Distilled: 17.5.74

Bottled: 6.84

Age: 20 years

Cask Type: Sherry Casks

Region: Speyside

Abv: 57%

Colour: 5Y 7/8

Nose: Strawberry, pear, cotton candy, cranberry, orange, basil, mango-pineapple, mace

Very sweet. Very red sweet, if that makes sense. Like those strawberry lips you could buy as a kid. Assuming you’re as old as me. Which these days, as I’m now one of the “oldies” at my new job, that’s just odd.

Eventually it calms down to a fruit medly with some spice.

Oh, and because I’ve been doing this so long: Mace is the shell of the nutmeg that has a lighter nose and flavour.

Pro Tip (Because fuck it, I think I can give them now): Go raid a spice aisle if you like whisky. Bake with each different type of spice. It’ll help your reviews.

Taste: Butterscotch, cinnamon, nutmeg, strawberry, peach, peanut butter, anise

Wow. This has this really rich and creamy, yet still fruity and spicy taste. The alcohol needs a little time to set, and once it does, there’s this cool peanut butter and spice mixture that just works.

And quite complex too. Not what I expected from the nose.

Finish: Earth, peanut, almond, floral, bubblegum, pepper, cumin

Nutty, fruity, and spicy. The high Abv shows in the final bits. Really a nice dram, overall. The nuttiness is so pronounced (yet not unbalanced). I’m surprised at it, I’m not used to something that can do both.

Other than when I put my nut in my mouth. But that’s just my thing.

Conclusion: Alright, did I do all the things for a /r/TOModera review? Did I mock myself, act with bravado, make a dick joke, question my sexuality, share too much, and perhaps, just perhaps, accidentally review a whisky in the process?

Glad to see I still gots it.

Moving on….

This is a very unique, interesting whisky. Yes, it did not set off memories, however it came close. And the nose was the only ‘disappointment’, if I can even call it that. The whole whisky is well put together.

You should really buy it. You know, it shouldn’t be hard to find. It’s just 21 years old in the bottle, let alone no one on the internet has heard of it, but hell, try to find it.

Here’s to 500 more.

85/100

Scotch review #335, Speyside review #102, Whisky Network Review #500

One thought on “Dallas Dhu 20 Signatory Vintage 1974

Leave a Reply

