Taos Lightning 17 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey (K&L exclusive cask #15) [Mystery]

Taos Lightning 17 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey 1

Thanks to /u/Kilrathi for sending through a mystery sample with the bevy of whiskey he sent.

To start off, for those of you who are new: Hi, I’m horrible at mystery reviews. I can’t guess worth a damn, and I’m pretty sure each time I post one of them, I lose what little ‘respect’ I currently have on reddit.

And yet I still like them.

Hype can make us over value a whisky. It happened for me for Springbank 10, Buffalo Trace, and Balvenie Caribbean Cask 14. Granted I didn’t give them TOO high of scores (except the Caribbean Cask), however my general view of them as “amazing no matter what” made them a lot higher score than they deserved.

And now that I’ve alienated a bunch of people, let’s try to guess this American Whiskey, shall we?

Taos Lightning 17 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey 2

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: New Mexico

Abv: 45%

Colour: 5YR 3/6

Nose: Orange, cinnamon, pumpernickel, cranberry, pecans, pistachio, ketchup

If I hadn’t asked /u/Kilrathi if this was a /r/bourbon whiskey, I would have guess it from the first nosing. I’m getting a lot of rye notes, with fruit and spice throughout. Not a 100% rye though… just a hint of rye.

Granted I could be wrong. I know it smells like American whiskey. And I like it. Different notes, good amount of sweetness that’s balanced with yeast and acidity.

Taste: Cinnamon, cherry, orange, rosemary, floral, caramel, ginger, melon

More rye notes. Okay, I’m 100% sure I’ll say it’s a rye, and it’ll have no rye in it. Just wait and see.

Again, different notes. Very floral, spicy, and quite tasty. It’s not living up to the nose as much, however I still like it. Maybe it’s the rosemary that’s throwing it off a little.

Finish: Cake, nutmeg, thyme, cherry, strawberry & cream, coffee, wood

Old me would say that this has a sherry influence. New me knows that’s not the case, however still feels like there’s one.

Both of us are confused.

All in all nice finish, though the earth aspects have broken some of the balance on the dram. Tasty, though not as well as the nose or taste.

Conclusion: This starts out really interesting, with fun little notes and unique flavours throughout. I think the nose is the best part of the whole thing, however I won’t discount the taste. The finish is unbalanced.

So it’s like a beautiful woman with no ass: As long as you just smell and taste her, you’re fine.

Sorry ladies and gents, I’m taken.

84/100

Guess: Evan Williams Single Barrel 2003

Actually: Taos Lightning 17 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey (K&L exclusive cask #15)

Bourbon review #64, New Mexico review #1, Whiskey network review #464

One thought on “Taos Lightning 17 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey (K&L exclusive cask #15) [Mystery]

Leave a Reply

