Glenrothes Select Reserve

Glenrothes Select Reserve 1

My last day on vacation. I’ve been enjoying whisky all day, with some breaks. And some walking. And some exploring. And some pictures from my wife (not that kind, sicko).

So I’m running out of whiskies to review. In life, in general. Especially Scotch. I know, what a rough life. Did I tell you how I have too many samples and diamonds now? No? Guess I’ve been quiet.

Anyway, I’ve been meaning to try an OB Glenrothes for awhile. So I ordered Glenrothes Select Reserve as what I thought was my last dram in the UK.

Suspense. But that’s for later.

Glenrothes Select Reserve is a NAS offering from Glenrothes that is selected by Master Distiller John Ramsay. It’s annoyed some people. As NAS does. However according to “marketing”, it’s raised a few eyebrows recently with some of its batches.

Granted that could be horseshit. Let’s be honest, that’s the idea behind marketing when done poorly: Lie. When done well, stretch the truth. When it’s done really well it’s the truth.

Oh well. I’m ready for this one. Let’s see what this dram tastes like.

Glenrothes Select Reserve 2

Price: $59.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Speyside

Abv: 40%

Colour: 10YR 9/4

Nose: Sour apple, raw chicken, hay, peach preserves, rubber, plum

Yup, raw chicken. I have something under my nose that smells like I screwed up my dinner for the night, starting with the marinade and just going from there.

I had my wife okay the raw chicken part. And she worked at Swiss Chalet, so I trust her to double check. Also this smells like bad.

Taste: Plum, tons and tons of lemon rind, loganberry, blackberry, pepper

Like lemon? And easy drinking whisky? Well I have a dram for you!

Honestly, finding anything other than lemon took awhile. It’s “zesty” in that “lemonade” way. Not good.

Finish: Clove, hops, sourbracht, milk, perfume-y, sourdough starter kit

Not bad finish at all. Some spice, some creamy notes, and some sour/yeasty notes. I actually like the finish. Too bad I have to suffer through the rest.

Conclusion: Nose and Taste…. bad. Finish…. alright. It’s smooth, it has some fruitiness however it’s just not really working for me. There’s better out there. Drink it instead, unless you need to do shots. Better than some really bad whiskies I’ve had though.

66/100

Scotch review #308, Speyside review #89, Whisky network review #456

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #216

101 Whiskies to try before you die review #55

One thought on “Glenrothes Select Reserve

Leave a Reply

