Fighting Cock 6

Fighting Cock 6 1

Hey, look! It’s a bandwagon.

Now, do I feign being the Hipster I constantly fight myself from being and say that I did this review before it was cool, or do I just put it out there that I tried it because it was at a bar in Leicester and I was trying to beat my old record?

Wait, that’s the same thing, isn’t it? Oh well, no satirical hipster post today.

Alright, so a lot of Americans (I’m assuming it’s mostly Americans) have been posting about Fighting Cock 6 going to a NAS label. And that’s too bad. I wish I could do the comparison, however I was lucky enough to only try the aged one.

Also I was lucky enough to find all the whiskey I wanted while in the UK too.

If it makes you feel any better, my penis is only slightly above the global average. And I only own some diamonds.

Enough bragging though. This is a ubiquitous joke whiskey that has wormed it ways into our hearts like so much pork fat (and maybe some actual worms).

As a Canadian, I unfortunately have trouble getting cock, contrary to what the news will tell you. In Ontario they keep the cock all closed out, lest a suitable man like myself want to put it inside them, and thus be the downfall of society.

I’m actually talking about booze here. Church street helps prove how nice we are about gay sex.

But enough jibber jabber: Let’s see how this tastes.

Fighting Cock 6 2

Price: No cock in Ontario

Region: Kentucky

Abv: 51.5%

Colour:7.5YR 7/10

Nose: Grass, corn, fennel, cream, honey mandarin

The smell makes me want it inside me.

Yes, I have been waiting to review this whiskey my entire posting career. It’s made for me. Because I’m cock hungry.

Good, distinct, if simple flavours. I like it.

Taste: Caramel, anise, zucchini flower, nutmeg, orange, ham

This cock is so meaty I don’t know if I can take it all.

See, I’ve been waiting for this a long time. Like a cat on a hot tin roof, I ached for it.

Seriously though, the herbal/earthy tones mix between fitting in and not fitting. I need to practise more.

Honestly serious this time: This whiskey is tasty, and while I enjoy it, I feel that the earth notes aren’t quite right. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t.

Finish: Caramel, salt, grapefruit juice, anise

Short finish. And tastes like a salty dog (the drink, not a dog’s penis that is over salted).

It’s sad to say, however I think this cock is a 2 minute man. I was enjoying it, and then it just yells out “Shazam” and I’m left patting it on the back, saying it happens to all the bourbons.

Conclusion: Penis Joke.

Anyway, joking way aside now, for what this is, I enjoyed it. It’s simple, has some interesting flavours, and is a good, if young, whiskey. I think the finish could be fixed with some more age.

Oh, what’s that? Heaven Hill will no longer tell us the age of it’s cock? Well that’s a waste. Don’t want to be picked up not knowing the age of the cock in my hand. Too bad. At least it was good while it lasted.

73/100

Bourbon review #58, Kentucky review #38, Whisky network review #452

One thought on “Fighting Cock 6

Leave a Reply

