Grant’s Family Reserve

Grant's Family Reserve

When I’m on vacation I like to do more reviews than I normally could. And who wouldn’t? We’re whisky nerds. It’s what we like to do.

I personally like writing. That’s why I write all these reviews. They are fun for me. And the whisky is tasty as well.

Thus why I didn’t notice that I was coming super close to my 300th review. And then surpassed it. By a lot.

Last time I did this many reviews in the UK, I ended up passing my 100th review, and saving a special dram that had been requested for it. I also got so excited that I ended up going full Artiste on the review and then there was a major discussion started about it.

I avoided that for my 200th, which I was quite happy about. I ended up doing a fan Favourite of Laphroaig.

So what did I do for 300? I was honestly as surprised as you. I did Grant’s Family Reserve.

Yup. So much for fanfare and celebration, I accidentally reviewed a blend to try and break my record for binge reviews in the UK.

I’m so pretty.

Grant’s Family Reserve was first created in 1898 by William Grant. It’s changed since then, however it’s still made with some of Grant’s own grain whisky made by Girvan. And I liked the one Girvan I’ve had.

Granted it was a 47 year old whisky, but that’s beside the point. This whisky is still given awards, with a silver going to it at the 2007 International Wine and Spirits Competition. Which is better than nothing.

Also it has pretty good reviews by friends and people on whisky sites. It seems to be a well loved blend. So let’s see how it tastes, shall we?

Price: $26.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Blend

Abv: 40%

Colour: Yellow

Nose: Lime, burnt potato, sugar, lemon

This hurts so much. It’s mostly like huffing 7-Up right from the can. Which won’t get you high.

Ever blow up a potato in the oven? Life Pro Tip: Don’t fucking do that. It smells like death. Actually made me throw-up once. This smells like that.

Taste: Lime, burnt sugar

More lime. Now with burnt sugar! More not liking this. Now with it in my mouth!

It’s at this point I double check it hasn’t oxidized, and I’m informed that I didn’t use the plastic, oxidized bottle. I originally planned to review each, however I can’t bring myself to try another.

Finish: Pain, burnt cake, sour patch kids, old Tylenol

At least it still has the citrus notes. Which by now take up all of the flavours, mixed with old medication. Which I’d recommend against taking, and I only know because I didn’t read the expiry date one time.

Conclusion: Happy 300 /r/scotch reviews to me! Yay me!

Oh god this isn’t that tasty. Granted, after leaving it out, eventually all the rough flavours just became muted and it tasted like citrus and ouch. However it’s not that good. All young grain whisky makes it harsh.

I’d even avoid it as mix.

20/100

Scotch review #300, Blend review #37, Whisky network review #443

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #209

One thought on “Grant’s Family Reserve

Leave a Reply

