Scottish Leader

Scottish Leader 1

So I’m in Keflavik. And no, I didn’t sneeze while writing that, it’s in Iceland.

And I’m excited to start my trip. This is… 3 weeks ago now. We’re looking for something to do. I decide let’s check the whisky. And find Scottish Leader.

I’ve never had Scottish Leader. Heck, I’ve never even heard of this whisky. I mean, it’s in one of my books, but so are 1000 other whiskies, and it’s a blend, so I don’t think too much about it. Pick up the dram, which costs MUCH too much in Iceland (note: Iceland is expensive) and then get on the plane, forgetting about it.

Until my wife reminds me I need to do 4 reviews a day to beat my old record. So I drag this one out, and, feeling pretty good about my last blend review, decide to review it.

Scottish Leader has one quite a few medals as well, both recently and way back in 1997 when it won the International Spirits Challenge, which I imagine is like the Pepsi challenge. That’s pretty impressive. So let’s see how this blend stacks up, shall we?

Scottish Leader 2

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Blend

Abv: 40%

Colour: Brown/gold

Nose: Pear, lemon, vegetal, thyme, mulch

Fruity at first, and then super earthy and vegetal. Like smelling V8 juice, without the acidic tomato.

I’m not that big of a fan so far. It’s actually pretty rough.

Taste: Pear, smoke, Perrier, cumin, herbal

Okay, so it’s not like eating dirt, so that’s a plus. It still has some pretty mineral-y flavours to it though, and the earth is still there.

The pear helps though. So that’s something.

Finish: Earth, dry, apple, white grape, oregano

Decent finish on this one, with all the other flavours coming in. I’d actually say that it won awards strictly for the finish.

Conclusion: Well, so much for a run of blends I loved. Combo breaker on this one. It’s fairly simple in the nose and taste, with un-balanced elements of earth throughout.

The finish is quite nice though, and that saves the whole dram. Well, that and the taste not having many bad notes. Probably good to mix with or make rusty nails. Otherwise I’d pass.

62/100

Scotch review #290, Blend review #35, Whisky network review #430

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #205

One thought on “Scottish Leader

Leave a Reply

