Glen Moray SMWS 35.108 “A Feast of Flavours”

Glen Moray SMWS 35.108 A Feast of Flavours 1

(Thanks again to /u/Scotch_Fanatic for these drams, he’s a fine gent)

I’m sure I’ve had a Glen Moray before, I say to myself, woken up in the morning as if I had just realized I was staying at a murder house.

As I search though reviews upon reviews, screaming for a lost love than never was, telling a bird to fuck off from my window, I realize I’ve missed out on this Speyside staple.

Cursing myself for being so youthful, handsome, big cocked and generally humble, I decide to remedy all this.

Yes: I’m reviewing Glen Moray SMWS 35.108 “A Feast of Flavours”. Again, I love the names. It conjures up pot lucks of many people, each sharing different mish mashes of food that normally would never go together, coalescing into a belt popping orgy of delights.

Glen Moray SMWS 35.108 A Feast of Flavours 2

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: Speyside

Abv: 60.5%

Age: 12 years

Distilled on: 17.05.01

Cask Type: First Fill butt

Colour: Rusty iron

Nose: Pear, grapefruit, spongecake, apple, cinnamon, straw

The sherry influence is evident here, with some spices and a lot of fruity sweetness. There’s a little cereal as well.

At first I had trouble pulling it apart, however it seems nice, yet simple

Taste: Lemon, curdled milk, metallic, goda massala, Dettol, caramel

At first this is vile and I don’t want to drink it at all. It has flavours that I don’t associate with happiness and want to remove it from me immediately.

After drinking it for an hour, eventually the caramel and slight Indian spice mix are all that remain. That’s a long ass wait though.

FInish: Strawberry wine, mushroom, mints, thyme, toffee

Short finish, mostly all sherry.

Conclusion: So the 1,000 kg gorilla in the room is that this tastes bad for a long time. The nose is forgettable, though nice, and the finish works in its favour. The taste though? Gross. Honestly bad. Needs a long time to just be drinkable. I can’t recommend this one at all, it just isn’t good.

64/100

Scotch review #285, Speyside review #83, Whisky Network review #422

One thought on “Glen Moray SMWS 35.108 “A Feast of Flavours”

Leave a Reply

