Bushmills 10

Bushmills 10 Year 2

And here I am, in the land of Engles, drinking my way through the country and reporting back. It’s a springtime bender vacation that is vastly overdue.

There’s some difficult parts to this year though: I’ve done many more reviews since last time, and as such, there’s less and less whiskies to review. Not to be deterred, my wife has set forth a challenge for me to review more this time than last time.

If I don’t survive, bury me with my samples.

Up first, I found a whiskey I’ve been wanting to try for quite awhile: Bushmills 10. This is the benchmark single malt from Bushmills, made from 100% malted barley and aged in ex-Bourbon barrels.

It’s odd to start with an Irish whiskey, however I’m still quite excited to try this. We stopped into the train station bar, known for odd whiskies of all sorts, and packed to the brim due to a football game.

Quick bias note: I am on vacation, so my overt positivity and fat diet may lead to more positive scores. I’ll attempt to circumvent this by thinking dour thoughts while tying this all up.

Bushmills 10 Year 1

Price: $42.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Ireland

Abv: 40%

Colour: Brown

Nose: Lemon, woody, lime, banana bread, nutty

Very light nose. Took some time to really appreciate it. However, once I picked up the banana bread notes I was thoroughly enjoying this dram.

Reminds me of a cask-strength Lowland (which makes sense as both are triple distilled).

Taste: Lime, walnut, bread, vanilla, custard

Again there’s a dessert bread flavour here. Like a bread pudding.

Still very light as well. Like trying to suck on a tiny dick or find a clit with just your mouth, it’s hard to find with a decent payoff.

Finish: Pecan, vanilla, wood, clove, whey, grain, lime

A little bit heavy on the wood flavours here. It’s nice, and finishes with a pecan pie. So a beaver’s dinner with a southern finish.

Conclusion: I made cunninilingus jokes because I can’t swear on the train near an 8 year old.

Oh, you mean about the whiskey. It’s quite tasty, and definitely an improment over other Bushmill’s products. I’d recommend this whiskey, and think it’s quite a nice Irish whiskey. That said, it’s faint. Not “this is great subtle flavour” faint, I mean “has some issues and /u/texacer will drink heavily about it being light” faint.

79/100

World Whiskey review #79, Ireland #18, Whiskey Network review #406

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #198

One thought on “Bushmills 10

Leave a Reply

