Dewar’s 18

Dewar's 18 1

(Thanks to /u/slackerdude for the swap!)

If you pretty a pig up in a dress, does it make the pig better, the dress worse, or you worse?

That’s the question I typically have with blends. I completely accept the idea of blends being a potential for a good whisky. I also accept that Scotch ‘blends’, ‘vats’, and ‘blended’ whisky typically isn’t sold to make it great. Yes, some companies are going against that trend, and it’s awesome, however a lot of times the blends we get that are in a fancy sundress aren’t that great.

Case in point, Dewar’s 18. I do wonder about multiple 18 year whiskies being blended and vatted (aged again) into a low level brand. Not that there isn’t a market for it: I just react to it the same way that a cow farmer may react to a leather BDSM suit: Not typically my thing, and could that material been used for something else.

Then I realize that blends still make up a good amount of the market. Blends are the reason I get to try really weird stuff. So I should give them a try. Maybe it’ll be a new whisky I can buy cheap and serve to people?

Dewar's 18 2

Price: Not currently available at the LCBO

Region: Blend

Abv: 40%

Colour: Bworn-Gold

Nose: Wood, raspberry, lemon, peach, mineral water

Decent nose on this one. Gone are the horrid smells of younger blends and left is a decent, if somewhat woody nose. Even a little bit of bath salts to it.

Not too complex, and pretty standard notes, however it’s nice.

Taste: Peach, wood, butter, mango, dark caramel

Big peach flavour at first, which dies down. However it’s not blah like other blends. Smooth? Yes. Not blah though. Has inklings of complexity. I enjoy it, actually.

Finish: Caramel, butter, faint traces of indistinguishable tropical fruits that I may be just hoping for and imagining

And then the finish falls on its face like me as a clumsy… human. Honestly, this is short, hard to figure out, and really not there. Such a waste.

Conclusion: I’m let down by the finish. The nose is okay. The taste is nice, and on its way to changing my mind about the brand. And then the finish left before I could talk to it.

Honestly, I can’t recommend this one, and that’s just too bad.

69/100

Scotch reviews #269, Blend reviews #30, Whisky Network review #402

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #195

2 thoughts on “Dewar’s 18

Leave a Reply

